Skip to main content

Gov. Dayton declares state of emergency after relentless rainfall

  • Author:
  • Updated:

Days of relentless rainfall and waves of storms prompted Gov. Mark Dayton to declare a state of emergency in 35 Minnesota counties affected by flooding and storm damage.

The executive order makes various state resources available for those counties and engages state agencies in response efforts, according to a news release.

Counties in the state of emergency include: Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Grant, Hubbard, Jackson, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Lyon, Koochiching, McLeod, Morrison, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Olmsted, Otter Tail, Pipestone, Ramsey, Redwood, Renville, Rice, Rock, Roseau, Saint Louis, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Todd and Waseca, the release says.

Dayton also sent 100 National Guard Soldiers to Koochiching County, in far northern Minnesota.

The state's Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) fully activated the State Emergency Operations Center (SEOC) Thursday, which had been partially activated earlier this week in response to recent storms.

Heavy rains have been drenching the state for the past month. The entire state is 5-10 inches above its normal rainfall levels, according to reports. In the last week, Minnesota has been pounded by storms and heavy rain, which has flooded already swollen waterways.

Throughout the state, water-covered roads slowed the Thursday morning commute. The heavy rainfall Thursday set records, making it the wettest day in 2014 for the Twin Cities, and pushing 2014 into the record books for wettest start to a year since 1871.

And more rain is on the way for Thursday evening, which will raise already high flooding risks.

Next Up

Screen Shot 2022-01-17 at 9.39.38 PM

Jordan Greenway runs into Darcy Kuemper, sparks fight

Kuemper got knocked out of the game, leading to the brawl.

Kirill Kaprizov

MacKinnon's controversial goal helps Avalanche top Wild

Kirill Kaprizov's two goals were spoiled by a questionable call.

powell itasca jail jan 2022 resize

Attorney accused of sex assault misses hearing, DMs judge

He was arrested the next day after a warrant was issued,

lorie shaull vulcan snow park st paul winter carnival 2018

Winter Carnival: Get vaccinated or test negative before coming

Organizers are also reminding people to be mindful of the city's emergency regulations.

hospital, emergency room

Driver, 15 years old, hurt when car collides with SUV

The road was wet at the time, the State Patrol said.

Tyler Wahl

Minnesotans have the Badgers back in the national spotlight

Three of Wisconsin's four leading scorers are from Minnesota.

Francisco Liriano

Liriano retires: Remembering his meteoric rise as a rookie

There was no one better than Liriano from mid-May to late-July in 2006.