Minnesota voter turnout short of expectations; IP loses major party status


Minnesota has long been proud of its reputation as the state with the highest voter turnout in the country. So it came as a disappointment that turnout in Tuesday's midterm election was only around 50 percent.

Just a few days before the election, Secretary of State Mark Ritchie was predicting 55-60 percent of eligible voters would go to the polls, "making it the 10th consecutive general election in which its turnout has surpassed all other states."

But it turns out he was a little too optimistic. Ritchie announced Wednesday that an estimated 1.9 million of the state's 3.9 million eligible voters cast their ballots, just a wee bit more than half. He noted that number is still preliminary, and will likely increase slightly as counties submit their final vote totals.

In the last two midterm elections, turnout in Minnesota was quite a bit higher: In 2010, it was just under 56 percent and in 2006 it was 60 percent, according to the statement.

Some observers speculated that voter participation would be higher because of the large number of people who voted by absentee ballot before Election Day.

Ritchie said more than 197,000 people voted absentee this year under the state's new "no excuses needed" absentee voting rules – about 10 percent of all the votes cast. That compares to a rate of 6 percent in 2010.

So why the drop off in voter interest this year? It could be because the races at the top of the ticket in Minnesota, for U.S. Senate and governor, were not considered very competitive, the Associated Press reports. In addition, only two of the state's eight congressional races were close.

We can take some comfort in the fact that voter turnout was down in many other states as well, according to this map, although Wisconsin's high-profile race for governor brought more people to the polls there:

The outcome of Tuesday's election in Minnesota doesn't technically become final until the State Canvassing Board certifies the results. That will take place on Nov. 25. The five-member board is appointed by the secretary of state each election. Ritchie is one member, and the others are two State Supreme Court justices and two judges from the second judicial district.

“Minnesota is recognized across the nation for the integrity of its election system, and we extend our appreciation to the 30,000 volunteer election judges and our local government staff who worked long hours to conduct an efficient voting experience for our voters,” Ritchie said.

Independence Party loses status

The Independence Party has lost major-party status in Minnesota as a result of its' candidates poor showing in Tuesday's election.

The threshold for the "major party" designation is for at least one party candidate to receive 5 percent in a statewide election. None of the IP candidates hit that mark for the second election in a row.

That means the IP will no longer have automatic ballot status and will see far lower campaign subsidies for candidates, the Associated Press reports.

IP candidates on the statewide ballot, and the percentage of the votes they received, are:

  • Hannah Nicollet, governor: 2.9 percent
  • Steve Carlson, U.S. Senate: 2.4 percent
  • Brandon Borgos, attorney general: 2.3 percent
  • Bob Helland, secretary of state: 4.9 percent
  • Patrick Dean, auditor: 4 percent

"There's no change in the attitude of our candidates and supporters, and it doesn't change our energy," IP chairman Mark Jenkins said, according to the Associated Press. "We're going to fight for fair and open elections and for reasonable governance in our state and in our nation."

The party's fortunes have declined quite a bit over the past few years. In the past two gubernatorial elections, IP candidates Peter Hutchinson (2006) and Tom Horner (2010) had high profiles and each garnered more than the required 5 percent of the vote.

However, it was Jesse Ventura who first brought the party in prominence when he was elected governor in 1998 on the Reform Party ticket. It was later renamed the Independence Party.

Next Up

Kirk Cousins

Coller: Vikings vs. Jags is a battle of retool vs. rebuild

Matthew Coller writes a weekly Vikings column for BMTN, with more of his work found at Purple Insider.

Screen Shot 2020-11-23 at 8.35.40 AM

More than 230,000 people have downloaded Minnesota's COVID exposure app

The more people who use the app, the more effective it is.


Despite pandemic, Life Time pushes ahead to open downtown co-working space

It was originally planned to open in the fall, but it has been pushed back to April.

shamrocks irish nook

The Nook issues plea, asks people to order from its other restaurant

Shamrocks Irish Nook has the same food as The Nook, the restaurant owners say.

Screen Shot 2020-12-02 at 9.55.05 PM

Small plane lands on northbound I-35W in Twin Cities

A large police presence is at the scene.


Judge orders Minnesota gym that defied shutdown to close

Attorney General Keith Ellison sued the gym after it remained open.

montana cutbank

Charges: Man shot victim 'without provocation' using sawed-off shotgun

The incident happened on Nov. 24 in Ten Lake Township, located in Beltrami County.

Governor Tim Walz

Watch live: Walz, first responders address Minnesotans

Some departments have been forced to shift staffing or suspend service due to COVID-19.

covid-19, coronavirus

CDC says COVID-19 quarantine period can be cut to 10 or 7 days

You can come out of a 7-day quarantine following exposure provided you've had a negative test.

maple grove fire

1 person found dead inside Maple Grove business that burned down

A person had been unaccounted following the fire that destroyed Hanson Implement and Storage Tuesday night.

One-dollar bill, cash, money

Appeals court rules MN high school students can get unemployment benefits

They've been denied the benefits, and some were even asked to pay them back.