Skip to main content

Minnesota's major Democrats join Hillary Clinton's new 'leadership council'

  • Author:
  • Updated:

Hillary Clinton now has some serious firing power on the Minnesota front of her battle for the White House.

Some of the biggest Democratic names on the state's political scene have joined the newly formed "Hillary for Minnesota Leadership Council," a group of "over 60 elected officials, community, student, coalition and grassroots leaders," according to a Monday news release.

Among the group's members, the campaign says, are Gov. Mark Dayton, Lt. Gov. Tina Smith, Sens. Amy Klobuchar and Al Franken, and Rep. Tim Walz, who represents Minnesota's 1st District in Congress.

The aim of this high-powered team of political players? To build a "grassroots-driven" volunteer network that will help Clinton win the Minnesota caucuses next year, the release indicates. It's a crucial step in securing the Democratic nomination for president.

The coalition also includes a number of state lawmakers, including House Minority Leader Paul Thissen.

But the list is also notable because of who isn't onit, Allison Sherry of the Star Tribune's Hot Dish Politics blog writes – Walz is the only U.S. House member on the council, even though four of the seven other Minnesota congressional delegates are Democrats.

This might be because those representatives – Rick Nolan, Collin Peterson, Keith Ellison and Betty McCollum – are holding out on endorsing Clinton for president, Sherry adds. Some of them may be waiting to see whether Vice President Joe Biden decides to enter the race.

Next Up

Eli Hart

Charges: 6-year-old Eli Hart shot up to 9 times by his mother

The 28-year-old is facing 2nd-degree murder charges.

dave lee wcco radio

Former WCCO Radio host Dave Lee moves into podcasts

His new podcast, called 'My First Concert,' launched last week.

Tow Boat

Tow boat collides with Mississippi River lock and dam in Alma, WI

The crash remains under investigation by the United States Coast Guard.

unsplash school bus

Police: Man in minivan approached kids, claimed he was former principal

Investigators say children were approached by a man in a white minivan who falsely claimed he'd been a local school principal.


Minnesota's COVID-19 update for Monday, May 23

The latest from the state health department.

police tape, crime scene

Police: 2 people shot, 1 fatally over the weekend in La Crosse

Officers arrived to the scene and found one person suffering multiple gunshot wounds.

Bear killed after it attacked couple in Wisconsin.

Wisconsin couple fight, kill bear that broke into their home

The incident happened last week in north-central Wisconsin.

Image from iOS (2)

Urban Outfitters store in Uptown to close

A number of national chains have departed Uptown in recent years.

Screen Shot 2022-05-23 at 6.41.22 AM

USS Minneapolis-St. Paul officially launched in Duluth ceremony

It's the first U.S. Navy ship to be commissioned in Minnesota.

Screen Shot 2022-05-21 at 9.56.21 AM

North High principal Mauri Friestleben returning to finish year

The principal said Friday she had been fired from her role over her support of a student protest.


One dead, two injured in wrong-way crash on Hwy. 169

The crash occurred on Highway 169 early Sunday morning.

minneapolis police

Man fatally shot overnight in north Minneapolis

The shooting was reported around 2:20 a.m.