Skip to main content

New lawmakers, but little change after Minnesota special elections

There were no flipped seats in Monday's special elections.
  • Author:
  • Updated:

Minnesota has two new state lawmakers, but the overall compositions of the Minnesota Senate and House remain unchanged.

Voters took to the polls for two special elections created by the resignations of DFL Sen. Dan Schoen and GOP Rep. Tony Cornish following sexual harassment allegations. 

Ultimately, Schoen's former Senate District 54 stayed blue, with DFLer Karla Bigham defeating Republican candidate Denny McNamara.

And in House District 23B, GOPer Jeremy Munson comfortably beat DFL opponent Melissa Wagner to retain Republican control of the seat.

What does this mean? 

Ultimately this changes little in terms of power at the State Capitol. 

Republicans have a decent majority in the House, so no power was going to change hands there, but went into Monday's election with only two more seats in the Senate.

Bigham's win means the Senate is now 34-33 in the Republicans favor, and they are still at risk of losing the majority should Sen. Michelle Fischbach be forced to step down to fulfill her obligations as Minnesota's Lieutenant Governor.

Also, the hope of a "blue wave" carrying Democrats to victory proved to have mixed results.

Bigham's win by 3.65 percent was less than the 6-plus percent margin that Dan Schoen won with in 2016. That said, District 54 was carried by President Donald Trump by 16 points over Hillary Clinton in the last election.

Munson meanwhile beat Wagner by almost 20 points in the House 23B race, though this was 15 points smaller than Cornish's victory in 2016.

The results

Senate District 54

Republican – Denny McNamara: 6,815 votes, 47.07%

DFL – Karla Bigham: 7,344 votes, 50.72%

Libertarian Party – Emily Mellingen: 313 votes, 2.16%

Write-in: 7 votes, 0.05%

House District 23B

Republican – Jeremy Munson: 3,943 votes, 59.22%

DFL – Melissa Wagner: 2,658 votes, 39.92%

Write-in: 57 votes, 0.86%

Next Up

Akoya Lee

Byron native Ayoka Lee sets NCAA record for points in a game

The Kansas State forward broke a record shared by former Gopher Rachel Banham.

cold, wind chill, freezing

It's going to be stupid cold again Tuesday and Wednesday

They'll almost certainly be the 10th and 11th days with subzero temps this month.

Williams Uptown Pub

Williams Uptown Pub & Peanut Bar closes indefinitely after shooting

Reports say police have arrested two suspects in the incident.

Alex Rodríguez

A-Rod wears a Packers hat, Minnesotans lose their minds

The Timberwolves co-owner didn't endear himself to his fan base on Saturday night.

Flickr - Minneapolis police squad - Chad Davis

Police: Man shoots into crowd at funeral reception in Minneapolis

The shooting happened at a reception following a funeral on Saturday afternoon.

Screen Shot 2022-01-23 at 8.37.27 AM

Watch: Jimmy Garoppolo says 'F*** the Packers' after playoff win

The 49ers quarterback congratulated Robbie Gould in spectacular fashion.

Aaron Rodgers

America dunks on Aaron Rodgers after loss to 49ers

The Packers quarterback was destroyed on social media on Saturday night.

Marcus Foligno

Foligno's OT winner gives Wild fans a happy Hockey Day

A slow start gave way to the Wild's fifth win in the past six games.


Winter weather advisory issued as Saturday snow arrives

Not huge totals expected, but any snow will likely impact travel.


Republican wins special election in Chisago County

Anne Neu is the new state representative for House District 32B.

Senate special election beset by concerns over mail-in votes

There's a lot of interest in the Senate District 11 special election.

MN lawmaker called out for anti-transgender tweet

It was posted the morning after two transgender candidates were elected to Minneapolis City Council.

New Edina lawmaker gets nasty letter saying she can't be a good mom

Heather Edelson was elected as a state representative in last month's mid-terms.

Here's why 3 of Minnesota's U.S. House races are so important this election

Democrats and Republicans see these races as important – here's an explanation.