Obama declares SW Minn. counties major disaster areas after ice storm


President Barack Obama Friday declared five counties in southwestern Minnesota major disaster areas in the aftermath of a devastating ice and snow storm last month, Minnesota Public Radio reports.

The declaration came a week after Gov. Mark Dayton sent a letter to Obama asking for federal assistance to help the counties recover from the devastation.

Dayton said in his letter to to the president that damage to the infrastructure in five counties – Cottonwood, Jackson, Murray, Nobles and Rock — was estimated at $26 million. The state Department of Public Safety estimated that $19 million in damages alone was done to utilities.

According to MPR, the Federal Emergency Management Agency will cover about three-quarters of the cost of cleanup and repairs for damaged public structures.

Several cities suffered major damage during the winter storm April 9 and 10, where ice coated Worthington and surrounding communities. The weight caused by the heavy ice contributed to the damage of thousands of trees and utility poles, and thousands of people lost power. A heavy snow storm followed, hampering recovery efforts.

Dayton is also expected to seek state aid to help with the recovery efforts before the Legislature adjourns May 20, the Pioneer Press reports.

Next Up

Andrelton Simmons / Minnesota Twins

Twins sign Andrelton Simmons to one-year deal

The former Angels shortstop is a four-time Gold Glove winner.

covid, vaccine

Minnesotans eligible for COVID shots only need to pre-register once for vaccine lottery

This is good news for people worried that they'd need to sign up every week.

police lights

2 people charged in separate Minneapolis homicides that happened hours apart

A woman is accused of stabbing a man in the chest over $60, while a man is accused of accidentally shooting a victim on the man's birthday.

House for sale

Despite pandemic, Twin Cities housing market set records in 2020

Sales were up 7.7% in 2020 compared to the year before.

Target store inside

Target unveils 'limited-edition' home, lifestyle collection with Levi Strauss

The new collection will be available in some stores and everyone online Feb. 28.

Tim Walz

Walz's $52.4 billion budget increases school spending, raises taxes on wealthy

He says the budget will help level the playing field and ensure all Minnesotans have a fair shot at economic recovery,

Screen Shot 2021-01-26 at 12.55.00 PM

Pictures from Minnesota GOP's Deadwood retreat show no masks, no distancing

The pictures were shared in Chair Jennifer Carnahan's latest email newsletter.

Alexus Norberg

Search for girl, 14, missing from St. Cloud

The teen left her home without her parents' permission.

coronavirus, covid-19

Here is Minnesota's COVID-19 update for Tuesday, January 26

The health departments provided new data daily at 11 a.m.


President declares 'major disaster' in 27 storm-hit MN counties

The counties and three tribal lands will be eligible for federal disaster funding.