On this day in 2009 ...


R.T. Rybak is declared the unofficial winner of the Minneapolis mayoral election, setting him up to serve his third and final term.

Rybak defeated incumbent Sharon Sayles Belton in 2001, becoming the 46th mayor in the city's history, and subsequently dispatched of challenger Peter McLaughlin in 2005, and a field of 10 candidates on this day four years ago.

As mayor, Rybak created the City of Lakes Loppet, while also playing a part in leading the new Interstate 35W bridge construction after its collapse in 2007.

Rybak announced his intentions to run for governor in 2010, and won a straw poll on Feb. 2 of the same year. He would later withdraw his name, endorsing Margaret Anderson Kelliher.

The incumbent did not run for re-election this year, and his third term will end on Dec. 31, when he will give way to Betsy Hodges, who won the Minneapolis mayors race just over a week ago.

Next Up

butcher and the boar

Butcher & the Boar makes comeback with new ownership

Local hospitality company Jester Concepts has bought the brand. The new location is still being determined.


Staff at Mankato Hy-Vee incorrectly diluted COVID vaccines for 62 patients

The retailer says that there is no reason for medical concern.

rowdi lab missing

Twin Cities man going to great lengths to find beloved dog, missing in northern MN

He's hoping drone operators can help him locate Rowdi, his yellow lab.

Hennepin County Government Center

Some Hennepin County Government Center services will be unavailable during Chauvin's trial

Access to the building will be limited during the trail, which begins March 8.

Street sweeper

Driver, 19, killed in collision with street sweeper

It happened Thursday evening near Thief River Falls.

famous dave's

Famous Dave's to launch its first 'line service' restaurant in the Twin Cities

The new model of restaurant will open in September in Coon Rapids.

State Capitol.

Minnesota's budget outlook improves, now projecting $1.6B surplus

The state was projecting a $1.3 billion deficit in November.

warroad ice road

2.5 mile skating path through Warroad was a hit, now there's an effort to keep it

The "Riverbender Crew" is hoping to buy new equipment to maintain the path this season, and for years to come.

Screen Shot 2021-02-26 at 10.10.55 AM

Officers identified in fatal shooting of suspect in Isanti County

Three officers were identified in the police chase that ended with one suspect being shot and a police dog being injured.

House for sale

Zillow to start making offers on Twin Cities homes based off its 'Zestimates'

The Twin Cities property market is seriously hot right now.