President Trump's new travel order restricts travel from 8 countries

Critics are calling it a new version of Trump's "Muslim ban."

President Donald Trump has signed a new order that restricts most travel to the U.S. from several countries.

The order, which will go into effect on Oct. 18, expands the president's controversial travel ban he signed back in March. 

Trump's order impacts people from Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen, with restrictions varying by country. (Chad, North Korea and Venezuela are new to the travel ban list.)

For example, this new order calls for a full travel ban on people from North Korea and Syria, while it suspends nonimmigrant visas to citizens from Venezuela – this affects mainly government officials and their relatives, The Associated Press reports

But unlike the previous two versions of Trump's travel ban, this order doesn't include a predetermined time limit – it blocks travel indefinitely. (Although officials said it's not meant to last forever, the Washington Post reports.) 

For an easy-to-read breakdown of restrictions by country, check out this CNN story.

Restrictions are 'tough and tailored'

The order targets countries the Department of Homeland Security says failed to provide enough information to the U.S. to validate who a traveler is, prevent fraud, and ensure a traveler doesn't represent a threat to public safety or national security, the White House explained in a news release

Elaine Duke, the acting secretary of the Department of Homeland Security, said in a statement this order "will protect Americans" and allow the agency to "better keep terrorists and criminals from entering our country." 

Duke noted the restrictions are "tough and tailored," while sending a "message to foreign governments that they must work with us to enhance security." 

The White House called this order a "critical step toward establishing an immigration system that protects Americans' safety and security in an era of dangerous terrorism and transnational crime."

Critics say it's still a 'Muslim ban'

Reaction to Trump's order was again swift, with groups like the ACLU saying it is still a Muslim ban, despite the addition of North Korea and Venezuela to the list of affected countries.

"President Trump's original sin of targeting Muslims cannot be cured by throwing other countries onto his enemies list," ACLU Executive Director Anthony D. Romero said in a statement.

The Minnesota chapter of the Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR-MN) also condemned what it calls the president's "latest iteration of the Muslim ban," and encourages anyone who may be affected by the order to reach out for help. 

John Keller, the executive director of the Immigrant Law Center of Minnesota, echoed that when speaking with MPR News, saying the underlying problem on restricting people due to religion still remains a problem.

The ACLU is among the groups challenging the president's previous travel ban in court (the main part of it expired on Sunday), with arguments slated to be heard by the U.S. Supreme Court on Oct. 10. 

However, experts say this new order may be harder to fight in court because it comes after a monthslong analysis of foreign vetting procedures, experts told Reuters

For a look at how Trump's previous travel bans affected people coming to Minnesota, click here.

And for more information on the president's order, click here and here.

Next Up

rowdi lab missing

Twin Cities man going to great lengths to find beloved dog, missing in northern MN

He's hoping drone operators can help him locate Rowdi, his yellow lab.

Hennepin County Government Center

Some Hennepin County Government Center services will be unavailable during Chauvin's trial

Access to the building will be limited during the trail, which begins March 8.

Street sweeper

Driver, 19, killed in collision with street sweeper

It happened Thursday evening near Thief River Falls.

famous dave's

Famous Dave's to launch its first 'line service' restaurant in the Twin Cities

The new model of restaurant will open in September in Coon Rapids.

State Capitol.

Minnesota's budget outlook improves, now projecting $1.6B surplus

The state was projecting a $1.3 billion deficit in November.

warroad ice road

2.5 mile skating path through Warroad was a hit, now there's an effort to keep it

The "Riverbender Crew" is hoping to buy new equipment to maintain the path this season, and for years to come.

Screen Shot 2021-02-26 at 10.10.55 AM

Officers identified in fatal shooting of suspect in Isanti County

Three officers were identified in the police chase that ended with one suspect being shot and a police dog being injured.

House for sale

Zillow to start making offers on Twin Cities homes based off its 'Zestimates'

The Twin Cities property market is seriously hot right now.

Hennepin County Medical Center, HCMC

Man killed in early morning crash on Minneapolis' Cedar Avenue

Minneapolis police responded to the crash at 2600 Cedar Avenue South early Friday morning.


2 killed in separate incidents in Minneapolis hours apart Thursday

One man was killed in a triple shooting, the other fatally stabbed in an apparent domestic incident.


President Trump's travel restrictions are on hold – for now

President Trump said the "ridiculous" order will be overturned.

Appeals court refuses to reinstate President Trump's travel ban

President Trump had asked the appeals court to lift the restraining order blocking his new immigration rules.

President Trump two days after Charlottesville violence: 'Racism is evil'

Trump was criticized for not calling out white nationalists after the Charlottesville violence.

Update: President Trump's new travel ban is also blocked by courts

A federal court put President Trump's revised travel ban on hold, just as courts did with the original one.

The U.S. Supreme Court is letting Trump's travel ban go into effect – for now

The Supreme Court is letting the president's order go into effect – for now.

What Minnesota's U.S. lawmakers have said about Trump's immigration order

What Minnesota' U.S. lawmakers have said about Donald Trump's executive order restricting travel and refugees.

Trump travel ban one of 2 high-profile cases the Supreme Court will review

A limited version of the travel ban will go into force ahead of the SCOTUS reconvening in October.

Trump administration to release revised travel ban executive order next week

The original executive order has been temporarily blocked by the courts.