Special election today for two House seats


Voters in two Minnesota communities are going to the polls today in special elections to select new members in the Minnesota House of Representatives.

The Mankato Free Press reports that voters in Nicollet County will choose from three candidates for the seat left vacant when former Rep. Terry Morrow of St. Peter resigned last month to take a job in Chicago. Democrat Clark Johnson, Republican Allen Quist and Independence Party nominee Tim Gieseke are vying for the open seat.

The Associated Press reports St. Cloud area voters will vote to fill the seat vacated by Republican Steve Gottwalt. He resigned to take a job as a lobbyist for a healthcare provider. Candidates for the St. Cloud seat are Democrat Joanne Dorsher, Republican Tama Theis and Todd McKee of the Independence Party.

The winners will join 132 other representatives already five weeks into the 2013 legislative session.

Next Up