November ballot finalized: 4 state lawmakers lose in their primary races - Bring Me The News

November ballot finalized: 4 state lawmakers lose in their primary races


The November ballot has been finalized.

Minnesotans voted in their political primaries Tuesday – not a whole lot of them, though.

Turnout for primaries is generally far lower than in the November election and MPR News reports it was shaping up that way again Tuesday. The estimated voter turnout Tuesday was 235,788, according to the Secretary of State's website. Minnesota has more than 3 million registered voters.

But those who voted set the field for the November general election to one candidate per party.(Find all election results from the Secretary of State's office here.)

And in four legislative races, the incumbents won't be on the ballot. Democratic Reps. Phyllis Kahn and Joe Mullery, as well as Rep. Tom Hackbarth, R-Cedar, and Sen. Sean Nienow, R-Cambridge, all lost their primary Tuesday night, MPR News says.

Here's a look at the handful of primary races that generated some interest leading up to the primary.

Minnesota House District 60B

Ilhan Omar defeated one of the longest-serving legislators, Democrat Phyllis Kahn, in the Minneapolis district's primary.

Omar secured 40.97 percent of the vote, while Kahn had 29.41 percent. A third challenger – Mohamud Noor – also beat Kahn with 29.62 percent of the vote.

Because Omar, a political activist and former aide to the Minneapolis City Council, won the heavily Democratic district, it's likely she'll win the general election in November, making her the country's first Somali-American legislator, the Star Tribune says.

Omar will face Republican Abdimalik Askar on the November ballot.

2nd Congressional District

Leading the way was the contest among four Republicans vying to succeed Second District Congressman John Kline, who represents the southern Twin Cities area.

That race went to former radio talk show host Jason Lewis, who had 48.8 percent of the vote. He defeated candidates including businesswoman Darlene Miller, who was endorsed by Kline.

Lewis moves on to face Democrat Angie Craig in what most analysts consider a swing district. Roll Call sees Minnesota's Second District as a key to determining which party will control the U.S. House.

Minnesota House District 31A

Minnesota House Speaker Kurt Daudt will be on the November ballot after a challenge from fellow Republican Alan Duff, an Army veteran and businessman from Isanti.

Daudt, who earned more than 72 percent of the vote, will face Democrat Sarah Udvig in the general election.

The Speaker of the U.S. House also defeated a challenger from within the Republican party Tuesday. Paul Ryan of Wisconsin finished well ahead of Paul Nehlen.

 Minnesota House District 65A

Incumbent Rena Moran beat out challenger and Black Lives Matter activist Rashad Turner to be on the ballot for Minnesota House District 65A, according to the Secretary of State's website.

She'll face Republican Monique Giordana on the November ballot.

Minnesota Supreme Court

Incumbent Natalie Hudson and challenger Michelle MacDonald will be on the ballot this November for associate justice for the Minnesota Supreme Court.

This was the only statewide race on the primary ballot, and since Supreme Court justices are nonpartisan (meaning candidates don’t run as Republicans or Democrats), the top two vote-getters of the three candidates on the primary ballot continue on.

Next Up