What you need to know about Trump's new immigration order

The executive order has implications for those planning on traveling to and from Minnesota.

The Trump administration has revealed a revised plan for new immigration policies, after seeing an initial attempt to implement new rules blocked by the courts.

The executive order issued Monday morning has some differences compared to the controversial original, and has cleared up some aspects that proved confusing for border officers in January. Here are key points from the new order:

Travel ban for six countries

Citizens from six Muslim-majority countries – Iran, Somalia, Sudan, Yemen, Syria and Libya – who are seeking new travel visas will face a 90-day ban on traveling to the U.S.

This is one fewer than the original order, with Iraq taken off the list. According to NBC News this is at the request of the Pentagon and State Department, which sees the country as a major ally in the fight against ISIS and already has enhanced travel screening in place.

The Associated Press reports Homeland Security will carry out reviews of information the six countries provide to the U.S. for visa and immigration applications. They will then have 50 days to comply with government requests to "update or improve" that information.

Green Card holders not affected

The original order did not make specifically clear that Green Card holders were not affected.

But Kellyanne Conway, counselor to the president, made it clear Monday morning that lawful residents of the U.S. would not be affected under the revised policy. The same goes for those already approved for travel visas.

"If you have travel docs, if you actually have a visa, if you are a legal permanent resident, you are not covered under this particular executive action," Conway said, according to CNN.

This will provide some relief to Minnesota's immigrant community, particularly the large contingent of Somalis living in the state, who will still be able to travel to and from the country provided they have resident status.

There are a series of exceptions to the travel ban, which you can read in Section 3, Part C of the order.

Refugees still suspended, but change for Syria

There will still be a 120-day suspension on any new refugees entering the U.S., as there was in the original executive order, the BBC reports.

However, the "indefinite" ban on refugees entering from war-torn Syria has been dropped.

March 16

Airports and border workers will have 10 days to prepare for the new rules, which go into effect on March 16.

This is unlike the original executive order, which was enforced almost immediately and caused chaos at airports in the U.S. around the world as travelers in-transit or with pre-arranged travel plans were detained, delayed, and in a few cases sent back to their home countries.

More countries could be added

The order also makes a provision for Department of Homeland Security Secretary John Kelly, Secretary of State Rex Tillerson and Attorney General Jeff Sessions to request that more countries be added to the travel ban list in the future.

Another country could be added if it's deemed "necessary for the security and welfare of the United States."

What about the previous order?

Despite President Trump saying he would "see you in court" after the restraining order against his original travel/refugee ban was upheld by an Appeals Court, the original executive order issued on Jan. 27 has been"revoked" by the government.

Next Up