Skip to main content

10 finalists for Mr. Hockey Award announced

Having already been picked in the NHL Draft, Sammy Walker is favored to win.
  • Author:
  • Updated:

As announced by the Minnesota Minute Men, the 10 finalists for the 2018 Mr. Hockey Award are: 

  1. Carter Randkelev, Moorhead
  2. George Grannis, Duluth Marshall
  3. Lucas McGregor, Centennial
  4. Luke Loheit, Minnetonka
  5. Ben Almquist, Holy Family
  6. Colin Schmidt, Wayzata
  7. Demetrius Koumontzis, Edina
  8. Garret Worth, Duluth East
  9. Luke LaMaster, Duluth East
  10. Sammy Walker, Edina

SB Nation's College Hockey wing predicts the winner will be Edina's Sammy Walker or Moorhead's Carter Randkelev. 

Walker, a future Golden Gopher, was actually taken in the seventh round of last year's NHL Draft by the Tampa Bay Lightning. 

The two finalists for the state's top goaltender, the Frank Brimsek Award, are Atticus Kelly of St. Thomas Academy and Ben Garrity of Rosemount. 

The 34th annual Mr. Hockey banquet is the day after the State Tournament wraps up, Sunday, March 11. 

Next Up


What does the future hold for the Vikings at linebacker?

Anthony Barr is hitting free agency, and Eric Kendricks is approaching age 30

vehicle car

String of vehicle thefts in St. Paul, most left running unattended

The department is urging people not to leave their car running unattended.

kid hospital doctor

Child COVID hospitalizations reach pandemic-high in northern MN

As omicron surges, more kids are ending up in the hospital.

ice fishing close unsplash

'It's disgusting': Anglers dumping sewage on to popular ice fishing lake

A local CO told Bring Me The News it's people in newer, RV-style wheel houses.

Alejandro Rios and Michael Steward

Reward offered for information on 2021 double fatal shooting in St. Paul

It's been a year since Alejandro Rios and Michael Stewart were found dead on the sidewalk.

Peyton Manning John Randle Twitter

What was Peyton Manning doing in Minnesota?

It's apparently for an upcoming episode of his TV show, "Peyton's Place."

covid-19, coronavirus

Minnesota's COVID-19 update for Tuesday, January 25

The test positivity rate has dropped for the first time since before Christmas.

liz collin wcco youtube screengrab

Liz Collin reveals she is leaving WCCO

"Thank you for trusting me to tell your stories," she wrote in Tuesday's announcement.

jimmy john's rochester antimask rant guy

Video: Man harasses Jimmy John's workers, wishes death on them over mask mandate

"When are you going to start using that brain inside of your head," the man asks.


state hockey tournament, mshsl

Here are the 10 finalists for Minnesota's Mr. Hockey Award

Eight players from the metro, two from greater Minnesota.

state hockey tournament, mshsl

10 Mr. Hockey finalists announced; 3 headed to UMD

All 10 are committed to play Division I hockey.


Announced: 10 finalists for the Minnesota Mr. Basketball award

Now this is a group of 10 extremely good, highly recruited athletes.

Here are the 10 Mr. Hockey finalists

Casey Mittelstadt leads a group of 10 Mr. Hockey finalists, including the state's leading scorer from Delano.

Here are the 10 Mr. Hockey finalists

Casey Mittelstadt leads a group of 10 Mr. Hockey finalists, including the state's leading scorer from Delano.