3 Gophers football players facing expulsion leave school

Gopher football players facing expulsion from an alleged September sexual assault are announcing plans to leave the U of M.

Three of the four Gopher football players who are still facing expulsion from the university after an alleged sexual assault in September are no longer with the school.

Defensive lineman Tamarion Johnson and cornerback Ray Buford announced plans on Twitter to transfer from Minnesota to Arizona Western Community College.

The Star Tribune also notes that the University of Minnesota has confirmed that Dior Johnson is no longer enrolled at the university and has been removed from the roster, but neither he nor the other player facing expulsion, cornerback KiAnte Hardin, have made any announcements regarding their futures.

Last Friday the university's Student Sexual Assault Subcommittee recommended those four players face expulsion for their suspected involvement in the alleged sexual assault.

The panel recommended that two other players – running back Carlton Djam and quarterback Mark Williams – receive one-year suspensions.

The committee also decided that said four others players – safety Antoine Winfield Jr., quarterback Seth Green, defensive back Antonio Shenault and running back Kobe McCrary – would no longer face punishment.

None of the players were charged criminally. But a University of Minnesota Title IX investigation into the incident led to the suspension of all 10 players for Minnesota's Holiday Bowl game against Washington State and recommended punishments ranging from probation to a one-year suspension to expulsion.

The players appealed to the committee and testified during closed-door hearings in January. That committee then announced their recommendations last Friday.

Next Up