After cutting Boone, Vikings have new starters at every position on the offensive line

The Vikings cut left guard Alex Boone just one year after signing him to a big deal.

Among the 34 players cut by the Vikings on Saturday was veteran left guard Alex Boone, which came as a pretty big surprise considering he was entering the second year of a four-year, $26.8 million contract that he had signed in 2016. 

Boone's release means the Vikings are starting five new faces on the offensive line. Last year, the line went like this: 

  • LT: Matt Kalil
  • LG: Alex Boone
  • C: Joe Berger
  • RG: Brandon Fusco
  • RT: T.J. Clemmings

The new line features these starters: 

  • LT: Riley Rieff
  • LG: Nick Easton
  • C: Pat Elflein
  • RG: Joe Berger
  • RT: Mike Remmers

Berger is the only starter from also last season back in the starting mix, but he's moved from center to guard. Easton and Elflein were battling for the starting center job, but Boone's release opened the door to start both. 

Elflein is a rookie third-round pick out of Ohio State. 

Here's the 53-man roster broken down by position, according to 

QB (2)
Sam Bradford
Case Keenum

RB (4)
Dalvin Cook
Latavius Murray
Jerick McKinnon
C.J. Ham

Wide Receivers (6)
Stefon Diggs
Adam Thielen
Laquon Treadwell
Jarius Wright
Rodney Adams
Stacy Coley

Tight Ends (3)
Kyle Rudolph
David Morgan
Bucky Hodges

Offensive Line (9)
Riley Reiff
Nick Easton
Pat Elflein
Joe Berger
Mike Remmers
Aviante Collins
Rashod Hill
Danny Isadora
Jeremiah Sirles

Defensive Line (9)
Everson Griffen
Linval Joseph
Tom Johnson
Danielle Hunter
Brian Robison
Stephen Weatherly
Tashawn Bower
Jaleel Johnson
Shamar Stephen

Linebackers (6)
Anthony Barr
Eric Kendricks
Kentrell Brothers
Ben Gedeon
Emmanuel Lamur
Eric Wilson

Defensive Backs (11)
Xavier Rhodes
Trae Waynes
Terence Newman
Harrison Smith
Andrew Sendejo
Mackensie Alexander
Tramaine Brock
Marcus Sherels
Antone Exum Jr.
Anthony Harris
Jayron Kearse

Kicker (1)
Kai Forbath

Punter (1)
Ryan Quigley

Long Snapper (1)
Kevin McDermott

Injured reserve:
DT Datone Jones

Physically unable to perform list:
QB Teddy Bridgewater

Reserve/Non-football injury list:
DT Sharrif Floyd

WR Michael Floyd

Next Up