Big changes on the way for the WNBA


The WNBA announced some major changes to its regular season and postseason formats beginning this coming summer season.

Here's the quick summary of what's changing. If you want a more in-depth story, check out the league's release right here.

  • Each team will play the other 11 teams in the league three times
  • The 34th game of the season will be a conference opponent
  • Top 8 teams in the league make the playoffs (top 4 in each conference previously made it)
  • Top 2 teams get a bye into the semifinals
  • Single elimination for the first two rounds of the playoffs
  • Semifinals and WNBA Finals are best-of-five series'

The Minnesota Lynx are the reigning WNBA champs. The Lynx tip off the upcoming season May 14 against the Phoenix Mercury.

Next Up

coronavirus, ICU

Nov. 25 COVID-19 update: 72 deaths ties Minnesota's single-day high

A COVID-19 update will not be provided on Thanksgiving Day.


Revival to open its fourth Twin Cities location

The fried chicken and smoked meat maestros are moving to St. Louis Park.

Duluth and Case Recreation Center

St. Paul to open two extra temporary shelters for homeless people

Mayor Melvin Carter announced the new shelters will be opened in the event of excess demand.

vote, election

Minnesota once again had the highest election turnout in the country

Amid the COVID-19 pandemic, a record percentage of voters also sent in absentee ballots.

court gavel

Minneapolis man sentenced to 30 years for death in robbery gone wrong

James Moore was sentenced in the death of Malik Smith.

Em1jOWyWEAwspXK (1)

St. Paul homicide suspect arrested by FBI in Chicago

A 34-year-old Minneapolis man was killed in the Nov. 14 shooting.

Sanford Health

Sanford Health 'parts ways' with CEO after his face mask comments

Kelby Krabbenhoft had been with the company since 1996.

closed sign

What's open and closed in Minnesota on Thanksgiving Day 2020?

Most services will not be running on Thursday and unlike most years, many stores will be closed, too.


How a turkey's brush with celebrity in Bloomington came to a tragic end

DNR: if you care about wild animals, stop feeding them

TCF Bank Stadium

Saturday's Gophers/Badgers football game canceled due to COVID-19 issues

The Battle for Paul Bunyan's Axe will not take place for the first time since 1906.