Skip to main content

Big Ten releases Gophers 2015 basketball opponents

  • Author:
  • Updated:

The Big Ten Conference will have a new look in 2015-16 with the addition of current Big East schools Rutgers and Maryland joining the fold.

The Big Ten will have 14 teams competing next season, so a new format for scheduling was developed. Each school will play five teams in a home-and-home series, four teams on the road and four more teams at home. With that, the Big Ten released Friday the men's basketball matchups for the 2015-16 season.

Minnesota will play at home and on the road against Iowa, Nebraska, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin. They'll play the other schools just once. Illinois Northwestern, Ohio State and Rutgers will all travel to Williams Arena while the Gophers play Indiana, Maryland, Michigan and Michigan State on the road.

Here's the easy on the eyes breakdown for the Gophers, courtesy of the Star Tribune.

Home-and-away: Iowa, Nebraska, Penn State, Purdue, Wisconsin

Home only: Illinois, Northwestern, Ohio State, Rutgers

Away only: Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State

Here's chart noting every Big Ten team's 2015-16 opponents.

Next Up

Kwesi Adofo-Mensah

Here’s what the Vikings owners say about new GM Kwesi Adofo-Mensah

The Vikings announced his hiring on Wednesday night.

raiaing canes brooklyn park crop

After 3-month delay, newest Twin Cities Raising Cane's opens

The restaurant was originally scheduled to open in October.

st anthony armed robbery screengrab

Armed man robs Twin Cities thrift store, flees in carjacked pickup

He pulled out a handgun shortly after chatting with the cashier about his scarf.

red wing 6

Gallery: Pagoda-inspired home on Lake Pepin for sale for $2M

The home has 425 feet of private shoreline on the Mississippi River.

Walz, Flanagan

Walz proposes legalizing marijuana in massive supplemental budget

It's among the provisions in his "Budget to Move Minnesota Forward."

Plow 2 (1)

Photos reveal damage from gunshots to Minneapolis snowplow

A hydraulic line and three tires were damaged in the shooting.

unsplash - school classroom students

Minneapolis schools confirm return to in-person teaching Monday

The school district shifted to online learning almost two weeks ago as rising COVID cases led to staff and bus driver shortages.

Flickr - Superior National Forest Boundary Waters

Mineral leases for proposed Twin Metals mine near Boundary Waters canceled

A review by the DOI found "significant legal deficiencies" with the leases' 2019 renewal.


Reward to find person who left kittens to die in freezing WI cold

The cats were thrown from a vehicle, according to a witness.

metro mobility bus

Charges: Man led police on multi-city pursuit in stolen Metro Mobility bus

The bus had been left unattended with the keys inside when it was stolen.

Bell Ramsey Co. Jan 22 - crop

Charges: Man fatally shot mother of his child during argument

Officers found her on the ground outside the couple's home.


Minnesota's COVID-19 update for Wednesday, January 26

More than 15,000 new cases in today's update.