Big Ten releases inaugural men's hockey schedule - Bring Me The News

Big Ten releases inaugural men's hockey schedule


The Big Ten is out with it’s first-ever men’s hockey schedule for 2013-14. Six teams will play in the new conference this fall: Minnnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Michigan State, Penn State and Ohio State.

The Gophers open the 20-game conference slate with a border battle, hosting Wisconsin at Mariucci Arena. That falls on Friday, Nov. 29 and Saturday, Nov. 30.

The 20-game schedule is capped by a conference tournament March 20-22 at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

The Gophers will also play 16 non-conference games, which start Oct. 11 at Mariucci, host site of the Ice Breaker Tournament. New Hampshire, Clarkson and Mercyhurst are also competing -- but exact matchups will be announced at a later date, according to

Minnesota also has non-conference series against former WCHA foes Bemidji State, Minnesota State (Mankato) and Minnesota-Duluth.

Next Up