Boys basketball finals: Lakeville North stuns Hopkins for first 4A title


Champions were crowned Saturday in the Minnesota state boys high school basketball tournament.

Class 4A: Lakeville North 84, Hopkins 82

Lakeville North stunned Hopkins 84-82 to win its first Class 4A basketball state championship Saturday night at Target Center.

Lakeville's J.P. Macura kept the Panthers in the game by scoring 43 points, the Star Tribune reports. But it was two of his teammates, Drew Stewart and Connor Flack, who made the biggest plays at the end to give Lakeville the upset victory.

Hopkins was leading 82-78 with 36 seconds left when Stewart hit a three-point shot and was fouled on the play. He missed the free throw, but Flack rebounded the ball and scored on the put-back, giving Lakeville North an 83-82 lead with18.1 seconds left, according to the Star Tribune.

Hopkins turned the ball over on its next possession. Stewart made another free throw to make it 84-82. Hopkins' Jacob Wright missed a three-pointer at the buzzer, giving the Panthers the victory.

Class 3A: DeLaSalle 60, Austin 40

DeLaSalle seniors, including starters Reid Travis, Geno Crandall and James Lawson, finished their high school careers with back-to-back-to-back state titles.

The three players signaled three-peat as they left the court seconds before the buzzer, the Star Tribune reports.

Travis scored a team-high 16 points, Lawson had nine points and 11 rebounds, and Crandall had four points and seven rebounds. Sacar Anim scored 13.

Austin was led by Ajuda Nywesh’s game-high 24 points.

Austin made it a game for the first six minutes, relying primarily on three-point shooting early on. The teams were tied 14-14 with 12:03 to play in the first half. Then DeLaSalle broke open the game with a 19-6 run, and led at halftime 33-20.

Travis will play college basketball at Stanford next year.

Class 2A: Esko 60, Annandale 41

Esko pulled away in the second half to defeat top-ranked Annandale in the Class 2A championship 60-41.

It is the Eskomos' first basketball state championship in school history.

Esko set the tone from the opening tip, draining a more than a minute and a half off the clock on its first possession before taking a 2-0 lead. Playing a tight man-to-man defense and not allowing Annandale to get out and run the court, Esko built a 22-18 halftime lead, the Star Tribune reports.

With leading scorer Kory Deadrick experiencing shooting problems of his own, Esko leaned on Casey Staniger and Marc Peterson for offense. The senior duo combined for 15 points before halftime.

Any adjustments Annandale made at halftime were negated by a suddenly hot Esko's leading scorer Kory Deadrick, was cold in the first half, but scored 12 points in the second half, finishing the game with 14 points.

Annandale shot just 36.6-precent from the floor (15-of-41) and was held to a season-low 41 points.

Casey Staniger was Esko's leading scorer with 16 points and Marc Peterson 13. For Annadale, Matt Miller was the leading scorer with 10 points; he was the only Annandale player in double figures.

Class 1A: Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa 52, Rushford-Peterson 40

The Class 1A game featured a matchup between two powerhouses. But in the end it was Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa winning the state title with a 52-40 victory over Rushford-Peterson.

Senior guard Brian Goodwin scored 11 consecutive second-half points for the top-ranked Jaguars, (31-1), the Star Tribune reports. It was the school’s second state championship; the first was in 2012.

Goodwin’s four free throws broke a 39-39 tie with just over four minutes remaining. He finished the game with 24 points, according to the Star Tribune.

Rushford-Peterson (31-2) struggled early on, and was down 11-0 at the start of the game. But it led by four at halftime thanks to a 25-10 run.

Next Up

coronavirus, covid-19

Here is Minnesota's COVID-19 update for Wednesday, January 20

The 111 ICU patients is the fewest in Minnesota since there were 109 COVID patients in intensive care on Oct. 1.


Here's what Amy Klobuchar said at Joe Biden's inauguration

The Minnesota senator was one of the leader organizers of the inauguration.

covid-19, vaccine

All of this week's COVID vaccine pilot program appointments are filled

Nearly 6,000 Minnesotans who are 65 and older registered for appointments between noon Tuesday and Wednesday morning.

Lane kueng thao chauvin

Osterholm affidavit ahead of George Floyd trial warns of COVID worsening in March

Prosecutors want to delay the Chauvin trial due to a public health threat.

WCCO-AM's Sheletta Brundidge talks with Lil Nas X

830-WCCO host calls for Dave Lee's replacement to be person of color

WCCO-AM has not had a person of color as a weekday daytime host in its history.

Screen Shot 2021-01-20 at 8.57.50 AM

Harmful grass fly larvae found in shipment to International Falls

U.S. Customs and Border Protection officials safeguarded the shipment until the threat could be mitigated.

Keith Ellison

Minnesota high schoolers will be reimbursed for canceled European trips

Minnesota Attorney General Keith Ellison announced a settlement with the travel company Friday.

Donald Trump

Trump pardons Minnesota man convicted on drug charge in 1992

John Harold Wall was among the 143 people granted clemency in one of Trump's final acts as president.

Lyn 65

9 businesses in Richfield affected by strip-mall redevelopment plans

Affected businesses may be eligible for grants that would help keep them in Richfield.

CBP heater

More than $260K in fake heaters seized at Minnesota border

The 780 infrared zone heaters were found in a rail car bound for Ranier, Minnesota.

Ian Cole

Wild trade Greg Pateryn to Avalanche for Ian Cole

Cole won a pair of Stanley Cups in Pittsburgh and is a former first-round pick.