Bridgewater, Barr make it a handful of Vikings headed to Pro Bowl


Two more members of the NFC North Division champion Minnesota Vikings are headed to the Pro Bowl.

The Vikings announced Monday afternoon that linebacker Anthony Barr and quarterback Teddy Bridgewater have been named to their first Pro Bowl.

They join Harrison Smith, who was named to the Pro Bowl earlier Monday, NFL rushing champion Adrian Peterson and defensive end Everson Griffen to give the Vikings 5 Pro Bowlers.

It's the most Vikings selected for the Pro Bowl since the club sent seven players to Hawaii in 2012.

Peterson was the only Vikings player named to the Pro Bowl when the original pool of players was announced in December. Pro Football Talk notes that Griffen, Smith, Barr and Bridgewater are injury replacements.

Barr recorded 68 tackles, 3.5 sacks, and an interception in his second season. He was also a key member of the Vikings 5th ranked defense that allowed just 18.9 points per game. He was the 9th overall pick in the 2014 NFL Draft.

Barr's biggest play of the season came against Atlanta, when he changed the momentum of the game by forcing an a fumble following a big run.

It was Bridgewater's first full season as an NFL starter. The 32nd pick in the 2014 draft finished the season completing 65.3 percent of his passes, while throwing for 3,231 yards and 14 touchdowns.

The highlight of Bridgewater's season came on Dec. 20 against the Chicago Bears when he became the second Vikings quarterback to throw four touchdown passes and have a rushing touchdown in a single game.

Next Up