Check out the entire 2016 Minnesota Twins Hall of Fame ballot


A year after nobody was elected into the Minnesota Twins' Hall of Fame, the Class of 2016 appears to have a surefire inductee with the recently retired Torii Hunter on the ballot.

Hunter and 16 other former Twins have a chance to be enshrined into the team's exclusive club next season during a ceremony at Target Field.

Here's the official ballot.

Twins President Dave St. Peter says Hunter is likely a lock to earn the required 60 percent of the vote to get in.

"We’re not committed to having somebody inducted every year, but in this case, we feel Torii is a sure-fire member. I don’t know if he’ll be unanimous, but I’m sure he’ll be close,” St. Peter told the Star Tribune. “I see a nice run of inductees going forward.”

Hunter is on the list because the Twins did away with a rule that required a player be away from the game for two years before being put on the ballot, the Star Tribune says. The vote is conducted by a 66-member panel of local and national media, select front office members and the fans.

The Twins' Hall of Fame was established in 2000 and has since inducted 26 former players, managers, front office personnel and broadcasters.

Next Up


Fire at Mpls. pizza joint weeks after opening, owners suspect arson

The owners arrived at work Tuesday to find the building on fire.

vaccine, covid

New COVID charts show hospitalization, death rates based on vaccine status

The unvaccinated are far more likely than the fully vaccinated to become hospitalized or die.

Flickr - Superior National Forest Boundary Waters

White House begins process to ban new mining near BWCAW

The stated goal is to protect the "unique natural wonder" of the BWCAW.

Autumn Merrick, Autumn Rose Merrick

Man charged in shootout, crash that killed 18-year-old on scooter

Autumn Rose Merrick was with a friend near the Holiday gas station.

D Quagon - DOC photo

DOC searching for convicted sex offender who has gone on the run

The recently released man removed his GPS monitoring device.

Anthony Edwards

Timberwolves: 5 things you can count on for the 2021-22 season

The Timberwolves hope to return to relevance this season.


With parking ramp roof empty most of time, Chaska adds pickleball courts

The top level isn't often used, so the entities teamed up to meet a growing need for pickleball courts.

Mauno Silpala

Former UN official ID'd as pedestrian killed in Alexandria

The native of Finland retired in 2005 and was living in Golden Valley.