Favre, Dungy elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Publish date:

Super Bowl 50 will always be memorable for many reasons, but for former Minnesota sports icons Tony Dungy and Brett Favre, it'll be extra special because it will have been played one day after they were elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Favre and Dungy were among six others elected to the Class of 2016. They'll be inducted into the Hall in Canton, Ohio before the first preseason game – the Hall of Fame Game – later this year. The others elected:

  • Kevin Greene, LB, Rams, Steelers, Panthers, 49ers
  • Ken Stabler, QB, Raiders
  • Marvin Harrison, WR, Colts
  • Orlando Pace, LT, Rams
  • Dick Stanfel, OG, Lions, Redskins
  • Eddie DeBartolo, former 49ers owner

Favre tormented the Vikings for more than a decade with the Packers before helping guide the Vikings to a memorable 2009 season. His final season was in 2010, with his last game being played at TCF Bank Stadium where he suffered a season-ending concussion against the Bears.


Dungy was a quarterback with the Minnesota Golden Gophers before playing and coaching in the NFL. Dungy was the Vikings' defensive coordinator from 1992-95 before spending six years as head coach of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. His final seven years were with the Indianapolis Colts, where he won a Super Bowl in 2006. Dungy's career record as a head coach is 148-79.

He was the first African American head coach to win a Super Bowl.



Next Up