Fishing rules on 17 lakes are going to be different next spring


Seventeen Minnesota lakes and one stream will have new fishing rules and regulations starting in March.

The DNR outlined the changes Monday, which includes new bag limits, release requirements, and more, and came after getting thoughts from the public.

“One goal of special regulations is to improve fish populations to make fishing better or more sustainable," Al Stevens, fisheries program consultant with the DNR, said. "So we need the public to tell us what they want for the process to be most effective, and we value that input.”

We won't get into the lengthy changes here – but below, all the lakes affected are listed. So if you see one you plan to visit, click this link to get all the details.

Ten lakes have completely new regulations.

  • Birdseye Lake (Itasca County)
  • Green Prairie Fish Lake (Morrison County)
  • Little Sand Lake (Itasca County)
  • Long (Higgins) Lake (Morrison County)
  • Maple Lake (Todd County)
  • Moose Lake (Todd County)
  • Platte Lake (Crow Wing County)
  • Portage Lake (Itasca County)
  • Sand Lake (Itasca County)
  • Sullivan Lake (Crow Wing County)

In addition, six lakes and a stream will have regulations tweaked.

  • Blackwater Lake (Cass County)
  • Kabekona Lake (Hubbard County)
  • Mule Lake (Cass County)
  • North Turtle Lake (Otter Tail County)
  • Pierz (Fish) Lake (Morrison County)
  • Rainy Lake (Koochiching and St. Louis counties)
  • Vermillion River (Dakota County)

And one lake will have its regulations dropped.

  • Horseshoe Lake (Cass County)

The DNR said these decisions came after a public review that happened this fall, as well as biological information from fish surveys.

There are also five lakes with regulations that were put in place temporarily, and those will now become permanent.

  • Battle Lake (Itasca County)
  • Crooked Lake (Stearns County)
  • Deer Lake (Itasca County)
  • Long Lake (Stearns County)
  • Pickerel Lake (Itasca County)

Next Up

moose minnesota usfws - flickr

MN homeowner mistakes large tent for dead moose

They spotted two people on a security camera dragging the "moose" across a driveway.

Flickr - minneapolis police officer close-up belt camera - Tony Webster

What happens if Mpls. public safety question passes? City memo provides answers

The memo was sent to the mayor and council members Tuesday morning.


COVID-19 hits Minnesota Wild coaching staff

The Wild will be shorthanded for Tuesday night's game in Vancouver.

Anthony Edwards

Ant takes alpha role after bad loss: 'We need to lock the f*** in'

The Timberwolves' rising star was not happy after Monday's loss to the Pelicans.

parker eisinger

Lakeville football player diagnosed with cancer week before playoffs

The tenth-grader was diagnosed with a form of cancer most commonly found in people aged 65 and older.

University of Minnesota peeping tom suspect

Someone keeps trying to film showering women at U of M

The university has received three reports in the past two weeks.

john Fluevog shoes 1

John Fluevog Shoes closes its Uptown Minneapolis store

The brand could return to the Twin Cities one day.

sidecar drink

Sidecar — Town Hall's new cocktail lounge — is officially open in Minneapolis

It's the fifth Town Hall location, but the first to focus on cocktails.

Screen Shot 2019-07-18 at 9.10.30 AM

Here's where DFLers stand on Minneapolis' public safety ballot question

The question would create a Department of Public Safety and remove some requirements.

Arthur Kollie

Man pleads guilty to brutal murder of 14-year-old girl in Fargo

The 14-year-old girl was the victim of a random attack outside a Fargo strip mall.

Minneapolis Mayoral Candidates 2021 - jacob frey sheila nezhad kate knuth

Here's who has endorsed the frontrunners for Minneapolis mayor

Politicians and community groups are voicing their opinions.