Football awards abound: Gopher lineman Lauer; UMD coach Curt Weise


Good years for the Minnesota Gopher and UMD Bulldog football programs netted key participants on the teams national awards in the last 24 hours.

Gopher first-year offensive lineman Ben Lauer, who helped the Minnesota running attack rank 37th in the nation, was named to the freshman All-America team by the Football Writers Association of America Monday.

The 10-person media panel selected the Plymouth native as one of four Big Ten linemen to make the team. Lauer was also selected to the ESPN Big Ten All-Freshman team.

A little further north, Minnesota-Duluth head coach Curt Weise was named the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year in Division II football Sunday.

The award honors a coach at every level on the NCAA gridiron (FBS, FCS, D-II, D-III) and looks for the man that produces the highest level of sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility, and excellence in athletics and academics in their program.

Weise led UMD to an 11-2 overall record, 10-1 in the NSIC, and a postseason win over No. 14 Emporia State before being eliminated from the NCAA tournament by No. 2 Northwest Missouri State.

The Bulldogs finished the season ranked No. 8 in the country, second among Minnesota teams to Minnesota State, who finished two spots above them.

Joining Weise as honorees were Gus Malzahn of Auburn, Craig Bohl of NDSU, and Pete Fredenburg of Mary-Hardin Baylor.

Glenn Caruso, head coach at the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul, was the three-time defending Division III honoree.

Next Up

Screen Shot 2020-11-29 at 4.59.51 PM

Watch: Adam Thielen watches end of Vikings/Panthers just like all of us

The Vikings receiver looked like a true fan on Sunday afternoon.

Chad Beebe

Chad Beebe's roller-coaster fourth-quarter keeps Vikings playoff hopes alive

A muffed punt and a game-winning touchdown helped defeat the Panthers on Sunday afternoon.


West-central MN cops warn kids to stay off ice, or 'Santa won't come'

This comes amid repeated ice warnings across the state.

covid-19, coronavirus, PPE

Nov. 29 COVID-19 update: 57 deaths, nearly 9,000 more cases

Nearly 100,000 tests were included in Sunday's report.

jim ramstad

Watch former Rep. Jim Ramstad's memorial service online

The ceremony will be live-streamed for the public on Sunday.


How high can Rashod Bateman go in the 2021 NFL Draft?

The Gophers star receiver has plenty of praise heading into next April.

TCF Bank Stadium

15 more from Gopher football team test positive for COVID-19

That brings the total number of cases from this outbreak to 40.

Teddy Bridgewater

5 questions for Vikings-Panthers Week 12 NFC battle

The Vikings welcome Teddy Bridgewater back to U.S. Bank Stadium on Sunday.

police lights

Shelter-in-place in Albert Lea after police officer shot in the chest

The officer was able to drive to an emergency room.


St. Paul officer shoots man who got out of dumpster, ran towards police

A report says the man was naked and had a steak knife.

Screen Shot 2020-11-28 at 6.58.11 PM

Gophers dominate second half to defeat Loyola-Marymount

Marcus Carr scored 26 to send the Gophers to 2-0.

Ambulance hospital emergency

Kandiyohi Co. man airlifted after hand caught in corn picker

Corn pickers are a common cause of farm accidents.