Former Gophers coach Tubby Smith wins 'Legends of Coaching' award


Former Minnesota Gophers' men's basketball coach Tubby Smith will receive the 2016 John R. Wooden "Legends of Coaching" award.

Smith, now the head coach at Texas Tech, was announced as the award winner Tuesday at the Los Angeles Athletic Club's annual Wooden Award Tipoff Luncheon.

The honor recognizes coaches who exemplify Coach Wooden's high standards of coaching success and personal integrity.

Recipients are chosen based on character, success on the court and graduation rates of student-athletes in their basketball program.

Smith is the 18th coach to win the award.

John R. Wooden Award Legends of Coaching Honorees

  • 1999 – Dean Smith, North Carolina
  • 2000 – Mike Krzyzewski, Duke
  • 2001 – Lute Olson, Arizona
  • 2002 – Denny Crum, Louisville
  • 2003 – Roy Williams, Kansas
  • 2004 – Mike Montgomery, Stanford
  • 2005 – Jim Calhoun, Connecticut
  • 2006 – Jim Boeheim, Syracuse
  • 2007 – Gene Keady, Purdue
  • 2008 – Pat Summitt, Tennessee
  • 2009 – Rick Barnes, Texas
  • 2010 – Billy Donovan, Florida
  • 2011 – Tom Izzo, Michigan State
  • 2012 – Geno Auriemma, Connecticut
  • 2013 – Bill Self, Kansas
  • 2014 – Tara VanDerveer, Stanford
  • 2015 – Steve Fischer, San Diego State
  • 2016 – Tubby Smith, Texas Tech

Smith has amassed a 538-263 career record over his 24-year head coaching career at Tulsa, Georgia, Kentucky, Minnesota and Texas Tech.

He won a National Championship in 1998 with the Wildcats, and led his team to four NCAA Elite Eight appearances, nine NCAA Tournament Sweet 16 trips and 19 20-plus win seasons.

Smith is also just one of seven active coaches with more than 500 career victories and a national championship.

Smith coached the Gophers from 2007-2013, and led the team to three NCAA Tournament appearances.

Next Up

Flickr - Halloween costumes masks shops - Chuck Falzone

Struggling for staff, Mankato Halloween business will put out-of-town workers up in hotels

The business is trying to attract workers from as far away as Iowa and Wisconsin.

Flickr - Mall of America 2018 - Ken Lund

Family of child thrown from balcony in 2019 files lawsuit against Mall of America

The boy suffered serious injuries that have required ongoing care.


Here are the vaccination rates of MN counties considered COVID hotspots

These 14 counties have what the CDC considers "substantial" or "high" COVID transmission.

covid-19, coronavirus

Here is Minnesota's COVID-19 update for Wednesday, July 28

The newest data from the Minnesota Department of Health.

classroom mask

Rochester schools will require face masks for young learners

Students older than 12 are encouraged but not required to wear masks.

Trey Lance

NDSU to feature in FCS heavyweight matchup at US Bank Stadium

The last time the Bison came to Minneapolis they brought 35,000 fans.

Jack Eichel

Report: Wild 'backing out' of Jack Eichel trade talks

The Wild are concerned of the price and cost of a potential deal.

Jose Berrios

Latest Twins rumors: Berríos, Buxton, Maeda all landing in trade talks

The Twins are reportedly "extremely active as sellers" ahead of Friday's deadline.

oscar ortiz = moorhead manhunt

Suspect wanted in ND killing found under stairwell in Moorhead

He's awaiting extradition back to North Dakota.

hospital, emergency room

Separate crashes in western Minnesota leave 2 motorists dead

There have been at least 246 deaths on Minnesota roads this year.

riptide - new state fair ride

State Fair announces new rides, activities, vendors for this year

Here's a look at the new ride, vendors and competitions at the Great Minnesota Get-Together.