Hill-Murray, Blake School claim girls' hockey state titles


The 2013-14 Minnesota State High School League girls' hockey champions are Hill-Murray and The Blake School.

Hill-Murray took down No. 1-seed Benilde-St. Margaret's with an impressive 5-3 victory at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul. The second seeded Pioneers coasted to the winner's circle thanks to a pair of first-period goals by Jess Bonfe and second-period goals by Jac Kaase and Lindsey Featherstone. Benilde rallied for two scores in the final period but couldn't fight all the way back.

The Pioneers tasted victory just one-year after losing to Minnetonka in the state championship game. It's the first state title for the lady Pioneers in school history.

Based on their seeding, The Blake School's 3-2 victory over East Grand Forks was a slight upset in the Class 1A state title game. It is Blake School's fifth title in seven state tournament appearances dating back to 1995.

The hero of game was a sophomore named Sylvia Wallin, who scored two goals in third period to give the Bears a second consecutive state title. According to the Pioneer Press, Wallin moved to the forward position for the game out of necessity – a position she normally doesn't play.

The two schools were the top two seeds in the tournament, both having advanced to the title game with nip/tuck victories in their semifinal games on Friday. East Grand Forks snuck past St. Paul United, 3-2, and Blake needed double-overtime to defeat Red Wing, 5-4.

Next Up

Sergio Romo

Twins decline 2021 option on Sergio Romo

The Twins begin a potential overhaul in the bullpen.

high school football

'Scalpel approach' gives MN schools chance to keep playing sports

County infection rates are no longer the only thing that matters.


With the help of HVAC, Circus Juventas will host its first holiday shows

After months of canceled classes and shows, Circus Juventas is hosting its first ever holiday show, with safety precautions.

Cameron Dantzler

Vikings send Cameron Dantzler to COVID-19/reserve list

Dantzler's placement leaves the Vikings paper-thin at cornerback heading into Green Bay.

peterson fischbach

Elections 2020 preview: 7th Congressional District

Will Collin Peterson hang on for yet another term?

Zimmer and Hunter

Zimmer explains why he called Hunter's neck injury a 'tweak'

The coach also said Dalvin Cook should return from injury this week.


60 charged in magazine scam that netted $300M

It's being called the largest elder fraud scheme in the country.

Screen Shot 2020-10-28 at 10.30.23 AM

The Star Tribune is shutting down City Pages

The free newspaper was bought by the Star Tribune in 2015.

billy's on grand

Coronavirus: Billy's on Grand will close for winter

The restaurant is among a growing list of eateries to close for the winter months.