Gopher women cap undefeated season with national championship


The University of Minnesota women's hockey team became the first to complete an undefeated season by beating Boston University 6-3 in the national championship at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis.

The Gophers went 41-0-0 this season and claimed their second straight national title.

Amanda Kessel, who won the Patty Kazmaier Award as national player of the year, had two goals and two assists in the championship game. That gave Kessel 101 points for the season -- something only three other players in women's hockey history have accomplished.

Mira Jalosuo, Hannah Brandt, Milica McMillen, and Rachel Ramsey also scored for Minnesota.

Dating back to last season the Gophers have won 49 straight, which is an NCAA record.

The game was played in front of a full house of 3,400 which was by some accounts the loudest at Ridder Arena.

Next Up

Twitter - Mayflies St. Paul - Jay Xiong

It's mayfly season in Minnesota, and it's totally gross

But a mayfly hatch is actually a good thing, we swear!

Okciyapi (Help Each Other) 2

Walker reveals first sneak peek at new Sculpture Garden addition

Okciyapi (Help Each Other) comes from local artist Angela Two Stars.

GCS-2104-005_btmn-comBanner_display_1000x1000_2 copy (1)[5]

The summer of live music is here (finally!)

Grand Casino Hinckley offers big-name outdoor concert events.

Star Tribune

Star Tribune food critic Rick Nelson is moving to a new beat

A nationwide search has been launched to find a replacement for the award-winning food critic.

Atravius Weeks booking photo

Charges: Man shot ex-girlfriend multiple times outside day care in Lakeville

The suspect shot himself in the head after fatally shooting his ex, charges say.

Mohamed Ibrahim

Ibrahim, Olson named First-Team All-Big Ten by Phil Steele Publications

The Gophers had 10 total players selected to the All-Big Ten team.

Pixaba - vaccine covid shot

10 Minnesota counties have now hit 70% adult vaccination rate

The more transmissible Delta variant is adding urgency to the vaccination effort.


Two young men killed after car, dump truck collide

The collision happened in Barron County, western Wisconsin.

Brian O'Neill, Vikings-Saints

Matthew Coller: Should the Vikings have any offseason regrets?

Matthew Coller writes a weekly Vikings column for BMTN, with more of his work found at Purple Insider.


Frozen Four, Gopher women's hockey

Gophers fall to Badgers in national championship game

It's the fifth national title for the Badgers.