Gophers capture several Big Ten postseason hockey awards


The Gopher hockey team was well represented in the Big Ten's postseason conference awards, announced on Monday.

The Big Ten regular-season champions took home four of the major conference awards and also had four all-conference selections.

Gopher goaltender Adam Wilcox was named the Big Ten Player of the Year and Goaltender of the Year, Mike Reilly was named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and Don Lucia was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Wilcox and Reilly were also named First Team All-Big Ten, while Kyle Rau was named Second Team All-Big Ten and Hudson Fasching was named to the Big Ten All-Freshman Team.

Wilcox, a Hobey Baker Award and Mike Richter Award nominee, leads the Big Ten and ranked third nationally in wins (23), save percentage (.934) and goals against average (1.91). The South St. Paul native is also on pace to set a Minnesota single-season record for save percentage this season. He allowed just 30 goals in 18 conference games this season.

Sam Warning, Ben Marshall, Brady Skjei and Fasching also were named All-Big Honorable Mention. Nate Condon was honored as a Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winner.

The Big Ten Hockey Tournament begins on Thursday at the Xcel Energy Center, in St. Paul. The Gophers are the top seed in the tournament, they will play Friday against the winner of Ohio State and Michigan State.

Next Up

Governor Tim Walz

Walz will announce timeline 'to end all COVID-19 restrictions'

The details will be revealed in the governor's planned Thursday address.

Associate wearing PPE 2

Amazon to open new facility in St. Cloud this year, creating 'hundreds' of jobs

St. Cloud Mayor Dave Kleis shared the news in his State of the City address this week.

State Patrol

State Patrol: Semi driver kills self after being stopped by troopers

The incident happened Wednesday morning in the Miracle Mile shopping center parking lot in Rochester.

state fair beer

Money Gal: Don't forget the most important items in your budget

Kelly started Money Gal Coaching after paying down more than $46,000 in debt in just 20 months.


Crash kills motorcyclist near Treasure Island casino

The crash took place just before midnight.

The Lunds & Byerlys on Cedar Avenue in Minneapolis, three weeks prior to opening.

New Lunds & Byerlys opens in Minneapolis this month

It's been built in the spot formerly occupied by Bergan's SuperValu.

valleyfair food workers 1

Valleyfair food workers getting a pay raise for 2021 season

The starting wage will increase from $11.25 an hour to $15 an hour.

Screen Shot 2021-05-05 at 11.10.59 AM

Peloton recalls treadmills after child's death, dozens of other injuries

Officials say owners should stop using them immediately.

Screen Shot 2020-05-29 at 6.42.54 AM

St. Paul man gets prison, ordered to pay $12M for burning of 3rd Police Precinct

He was among four Minnesota men charged in connection to the fires at the Third Precinct following George Floyd's murder.


Some MN high schools are refusing to pay MSHSL's pandemic fee

The installment fees were approved as a "short-term" budget fix.

Grand Portage State Park

Senate GOP threatens State Parks, DNR shutdown if 'Clean Cars' rule isn't scrapped

Republicans are willing to hold up the omnibus environment bill to stop the MPCA from enacting Clean Cars rules.