Gophers' Wilcox, SCSU's Dowd named finalists for Hobey Baker


Minnesota Golden Gophers sophomore goaltender Adam Wilcox was named one of ten finalists for the 2014 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, the Gophers announced today.

Wilcox was named Big Ten Player of the Year and Big Ten Goaltender of the Year earlier this week. He backstopped the Gophers to the top-seed in the Big Ten Tournament, which begins today at Xcel Energy Center, and the No. 1 ranking in college hockey. Minnesota has sat atop the polls for 16 weeks this season.

The South St. Paul native allowed only 30 goals in 18 conference games this season, and he ranks third nationally in wins (23), save percentage (.934) and goals-against average (1.91).

St. Cloud State forward Nic Dowd is also a finalist. The first-team all-National Collegiate Hockey Conference star led the regular season conference champion Huskies with 39 points, according to USCHO.com.

The other eight players up for the award include:

  • Josh Archibald, Forward, Nebraska-Omaha
  • Greg Carey, Forward, St. Lawrence
  • Ryan Dzingel, Forward, Ohio State
  • Johnny Gaudreau, Forward, Boston College
  • Shayne Gostisbehere, Defenseman, Union
  • Kevin Hayes, Forward, Boston College
  • CJ Motte, Goalie, Ferris State
  • Joel Rumpel, Goalie, Wisconsin

Nebraska-Omaha's Archibald is from Brainerd, Minnesota. He ranks second in the nation with 29 goals.

The favorite for the award is Gaudreau. The Boston College star leads the nation in scoring, having recorded points in all but two games this season. He was a top three finalist for the Hobey Baker Award last year.

HobeyBaker.com provides more context on each finalist in this video.

Next Up

Bob Fletcher

New 'public service' charter school backed by Ramsey Co. Sheriff to open

Efforts to open the school were spearheaded in part by Ramsey County Sheriff Bob Fletcher.

covid-19 testing site sign

Minnesota to offer free COVID rapid testing at 9 more sites

Three new rapid testing sites opened in Minnesota this week.


Elvis Costello cancels Mystic Lake show, will play vax-requiring First Ave instead

Those who bought tickets to Mystic Lake will be refunded, and need to buy new tickets.


23 Minnesotans infected with salmonella linked to onions

Four of Minnesota residents were hospitalized. None have died.

Anthony Edwards

Timberwolves smash Rockets in season opener

The Timberwolves showed they have plenty of firepower in a victory over Houston.

Knuth - Nezhad - side by side

Frey challengers Knuth, Nezhad agree to rank each other 2nd

They're urging supporters to do the same on Nov. 2.

Jerome Horton - Sherburne Co. Jail - CROP

Charges: Man lied to buy gun later used by St. Paul mass shooting suspect

He's accused of making false statements during the purchase of a firearm.

Screen Shot 2021-06-04 at 6.30.24 AM

BCA releases investigative file in Winston Smith's shooting death

The file contains 1,000 pages of documents, hundreds of photos and dozens of audio files.


Fire at Mpls. pizza joint weeks after opening, owners suspect arson

The owners arrived at work Tuesday to find the building on fire.

vaccine, covid

New COVID charts show hospitalization, death rates based on vaccine status

The unvaccinated are far more likely than the fully vaccinated to become hospitalized or die.