Gophers' Zahui B named semifinalist for the Naismith Trophy


Gophers center Amanda Zahui B. was named one of ten national semifinalists for the Naismith Trophy Women's College Basketball Player of the Year award.

The award comes just one day after the sophomore was named the Big Ten Women's Basketball Player of the Year.

Zahui B. averages 18.5 points, 12.7 rebounds and 4.0 blocks per game for the Gophers this season. She is the lone center and one of three sophomores on the list.

Naismith Trophy semifinalists

  • Brittany Boyd, Sr. G California
  • Lexie Brown, So. G Maryland
  • Nina Davis, So. F Baylor
  • Moriah Jefferson, Jr. G Connecticut
  • Jewell Loyd, Jr. G Notre Dame
  • Kelsey Mitchell, Fr. G Ohio State
  • Tiffany Mitchell, Jr. G South Carolina
  • Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, Sr. F Connecticut
  • Breanna Stewart, Jr. F Connecticut
  • Amanda Zahui B., So. C Minnesota

Zahui B. has twice been named the ESPNW National Player of the Week she also earned a spot on the Midseason All-America Team and was named the Big Ten Player of the Week four times.

The highlight of the season for the Stockholm, Sweden, native was a 39 point, 29 rebound effort that helped to lift the Gophers to a 93-80 victory over nationally-ranked Iowa at "The Barn."

The university says Zahui is averaging 25.8 points, 16.8 rebounds and 4.3 blocks per game against top-25 teams this season.

Next Up

Image from iOS (96)

Early Saturday fire damages Burger King in Richfield

The fire was reported around 1:15 a.m. Saturday.

Jamal Mashburn Jr. / Gopher Basketball

Maryland hands Gophers first home loss of season

The 17th-ranked Gophers fell to the Terrapins 63-49 on Saturday afternoon.

Alibi Drinkery in Lakeville.

Minnesota Department of Health files lawsuit against Alibi Drinkery

The Lakeville bar has been in the news for defying orders.

Iron Tap snowmobile delivery

This MN restaurant will deliver to your ice house... on a snowmobile

Just in case you work up an appetite fishing on Lake Waconia.

Klobuchar and Trump

Klobuchar reacts to report Trump plotted against his attorney general

The NYT story alleges further tactics to overturn the election.

snow, plow

Snowy Saturday: Here's how much snow is forecast in Minnesota

Snow will reach the metro area by the early afternoon.

Cam Talbot

Wild improve to 4-1 with victory over Dubnyk, Sharks

The 4-1 win gives the Wild four victories in five games to start the season.

Screen Shot 2021-01-22 at 9.08.16 PM

Daughter of MN Supreme Court Justice, Allina Health CEO found dead in Iowa

The 21-year-old was found dead in the parking lot of a sorority, according to police.

Screen Shot 2020-09-04 at 8.42.40 PM

Federal charges: MN marijuana lobbyist threatened U.S. representative

"I want you to be as scared as possible," the voicemail allegedly says.