Grand Rapids High School hockey star named national player of the year


A Grand Rapids, Minnesota high school senior has been named the inaugural USA Today's All-USA Hockey Player of the Year.

Forward Avery Peterson finished the season with 37 goals and 30 assists in 27 games for Grand Rapids. He was one of three Minnesotans who were named to the USA Today All-USA Hockey First Team. Eden Prairie defenseman Luke Snuggerud and Edina goalie Andrew Rohkohl were the other two.

Peterson is accustomed to winning awards. He was named 2014 Mr. Hockey in Minnesota and Associated Press All- State to name a few.

According to the Duluth News Tribune, Peterson capped his career at Grand Rapids with a program-record with 203 points. The newspaper reports he is the second person in the history of the program to be named Mr. Hockey Minnesota.

He plans to attend Nebraska-Omaha next year, was drafted by the Wild in the sixth-round of the 2013 NHL Draft. Peterson is currently playing in the United States Hockey League with the Sioux City Musketeers.

"It's cool to get an award like this – it just shows how highly we're thought of for high school hockey," Peterson told the news paper.

There might be something to that. Nine Minnesotans are amongst the 18 high school players who were named to the All-USA Team.

All-USA First Team

  • F Avery Peterson, Grand Rapids
  • D Luke Snuggerud, Eden Prairie
  • G Andrew Rohkohl, Edina

All-USA Second Team

  • F Steven Spinner, Eden Prairie
  • F Mitch Slattery, Hill-Murray
  • F Miguel Fidler, Edina
  • D Nick Wolff, Eagan

All-USA Third Team

  • F Chase Phelps, Shattuck-St. Mary's, Fairbault
  • D Tyler Nanne, Edina

Next Up