Dustin Johnson won the U.S. Open at Oakmont on Sunday, but not without playing the final six holes with extra nerves thanks to a violation that his peers are calling a "joke."
The controversy unfolded on the fifth hole, when Johnson was about to putt. Johnson lined up his putter behind the ball and then the ball suddenly moved backwards a bit. Johnson immediately called for an official to explain what happen. Seven holes later, on the 12th hole, an official explained that Johnson might be penalized a stroke for grounding his club, thus possibly making the ball move – but the ruling wasn't going to come until Johnson's round was complete.
So... Johnson had to play the final six holes of the U.S. Open wondering if a penalty could cost him his first major championship.
It didn't. Johnson finished 4-under with a trio of players in second place at 1-under, including Shane Lowry, who entered Sunday as the leader at 7-under.
Even the "Golden Bear" Jack Nicklaus thought the penalty was stupid.
"I told [him] what you did with all that crap that they threw at you was pretty good," Nicklaus said, via ESPN.
More of the world's elite players ripped the United States Golf Association for their decision.
This embed is invalid