Lynx win 4th WNBA championship in Game 5 thriller over Los Angeles

Minnesota has won the title every odd-numbered year since 2010.

Quick summary: Maya Moore's runner at the free throw line with 26.5 seconds to play proved to be shot that broke the Sparks' back, stopped a ferocious last-minute rally by Los Angeles, and helped Minnesota win its fourth WNBA championship since 2011. 

Full summary: Minnesota and Los Angeles took the WNBA Finals to the limit again this season, but instead of the Sparks beating the Lynx in the final minute of Game 5 like they did last season, it was the Lynx leading from start to finish in front of a raucous crowd at Williams Arena. 

Final score: Lynx 85, Sparks 76 

Series MVP: Sylvia Fowles

Fowles, the 2015 WNBA Finals MVP, clinched her second Finals MVP (she was also the regular season WNBA MVP) with a dominating performance, pouring in 17 points to go along with a Finals record 20 rebounds. The previous record was 17 rebounds, which she set earlier this series. 

The Lynx jumped out to a 7-0 lead and carried that lead into the half, 41-35. Minnesota boosted the lead to 10 points early in the third quarter before the Sparks cut the deficit to 60-56 at the end of three quarters. 

The fourth quarter was back-and-forth until Minnesota took control in the final six minutes. An and-1 jumper by Rebekkah Brunson put the Lynx on top 75-67 with 5:29 to play, and Lindsay Whalen hit a pair of free throws to make it a 10-point game with 4:50 to play. 

Seimone Augustus' jumper with the shot clock winding down increased the lead to 12 with 2:20 to play. 

The Sparks responded with six straight points, including a steal of Whalen at mid-court that led to a breakaway layup to cut the lead to 79-73 with 46.5 seconds remaining. 

Minnesota turned it over again on the next possession and Odyssey Sims made a layup and was fouled. Her free throw was good to make it 79-76 with 34.9 seconds to play. 

That's when Moore hit her runner to break L.A.'s back. 

All five Lynx starters put up big numbers. 

  • Lindsay Whalen: 17 points, 8 assists
  • Seimone Augustus: 14 points, 6 rebounds
  • Maya Moore: 18 points, 10 rebounds
  • Rebekkah Brunson: 13 points, 8 rebounds
  • Sylvia Fowles: 17 points, 20 rebounds

The Lynx have won the title in every odd-numbered year since 2010 (2011, '13, '15, '17). Minnesota lost in the Finals in 2012 and 2016. 

Minnesota joins the Houston Comets as the only franchises in league history with four championships. Houston won the first four titles when the WNBA began in 1997. 

Brunson is the first player in league history to win five titles. 

Next Up

Eddie Rosario

Report: Twins place Eddie Rosario on outright waivers

The outfielder's time with the team appears to be coming to an end.

radio station, microphone

Christian music broadcaster revealed as buyers of Go Radio

Educational Media Foundation. operates the K-Love brand, which has a presence already in the Twin Cities.

Screen Shot 2020-12-01 at 5.04.39 PM

St. Paul police chief reportedly fires officer who shot naked, unarmed man

Chief Todd Axtell said the officer's use of force was not reasonable.

Trevor May

Report: Trevor May leaving Twins to sign with Mets

The right-hander will sign a two-year deal to head to New York

Car crash

'Grim' milestone: Minnesota's traffic deaths reach 364, tying 2019 total

“With fewer vehicles on the road during the 2020 pandemic, the loss of life on Minnesota roads is beyond disappointing."

Devin Weiland

Charges: Albert Lea man, 21, fired around 90 shots at police, residents

Weiland was arrested after a standoff that lasted more than eight hours.

Body storage warehouse

Body storage warehouse 'ready if needed for COVID-19 fatality management'

The warehouse is currently storing PPE and testing supplies.


Signs come down at Giordano's restaurant in Uptown

It appears the restaurant has closed for good.

State Capitol.

Walz eyes COVID-19 relief package totaling $300-$600 million amid budget surplus

The state forecasted a budget surplus for the remainder of the biennium.

Bar beer

Walz non-committal on extension of restaurant, gym closures

He has suggested that the ban on mixing with people outside your household could continue over Christmas.


Lynx win: Game 5 back in Minneapolis on Wednesday

Minnesota led from start to finish in a game they needed to win.

Big 4th quarter gives Lynx 2-0 series lead; 1 win from WNBA Finals

Minnesota is one win shy of a sixth trip to the WNBA Finals in the last seven years.

Lynx survive crazy 15 seconds to even WNBA Finals 1-1

Sylvia Fowles set a Finals record with 17 rebounds for the Lynx.

Sylvia Fowles

Fowles alone in WNBA history after Lynx win over Phoenix

Minnesota has won six of eight after beginning the season 4-5.

Odyssey Sims

Odyssey Sims hits game-winning shot as Lynx stay red hot

Minnesota has won 5 of 6 and is climbing up the league standings.

Sparks take Game 2, Lynx now in must-win situation

Game 4 of the WNBA Finals is Sunday in Los Angeles.

Sparks top Lynx with buzzer beater in season opener

As advertised, two of the best teams in the league provided some drama.

Whalen returns, Lynx roll over Mystics in WNBA semifinals

Whalen missed the final 12 games of the regular season because of a broken hand.