Mauer denied Gold Glove, former Twin Gomez wins first for Brewers


Joe Mauer was denied his fourth Rawlings Gold Glove late Tuesday with Royals catcher Salvador Perez winning for that position in the American League.

In fact, the Kansas City Star reports that three Royals won a Gold Glove, including left fielder Alex Gordon and first baseman Eric Hosmer.

And in this season of watching former Twins do great things, Milwaukee center fielder Carlos Gomez won his first Gold Glove, ending one of the longest droughts in Milwaukee Brewers history, according to the Milwaukee Journal Sentinal.

The Brewers had gone 30 seasons without a Gold Glove winner, which was the longest streak in the 57-year history of the award, reports Fox 6 out of Milwaukee.

The last Brewers player to win a Gold Glove was Robin Yount at shortstop in 1982, while the last Brewers outfielder to win a Gold Glove was Sixto Lezcano in 1979, says the Journal Sentinal.

How can you deny a guy who makes a play like this?:

Well, the Twins web site explains it all. The nerds got involved this year:

"The Gold Glove had a new wrinkle this year, as since its inception in 1957, the honor relied solely on Major League managers and coaches votes to determine the best defensive players. But this season, managers and coaches got an assist from the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR). For the first time, Rawlings collaborated with SABR to formally incorporate sabermetrics as a component of the Gold Glove Award."

To which we can only say "Booo."

Next Up