Minnesota State, Arizona State denied entry into NCHC - Bring Me The News

Minnesota State, Arizona State denied entry into NCHC


The National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) has decided against expansion.

The conference made the announcement Wednesday afternoon. The decision means neither Minnesota State University or Arizona State University will be admitted into the conference at this time.

"After careful consideration and a thorough vetting process, the National Collegiate Hockey Conference's Board of Directors announced the Conference will not move forward with membership expansion at this time," said commissioner Josh Fenton in a statement. "We will continue to be attentive to the college hockey landscape and any future changes that may come. However, our focus right now is guided by what we can do to strengthen our current membership into the future."


Both schools had applied for admittance into the league. Minnesota State is currently in the WCHA, while Arizona State just completed its first year of college hockey. KBJR 6 says they will likely have two more years as an independent.

Arizona State could also choose to apply for the WCHA.


Had it been approved it would have put the Mavericks in the same conference as St. Cloud State, Minnesota Duluth and North Dakota.

Next Up