Series MVP Ortiz, Red Sox win third title in 10 years


For the third time in 10 years, the Boston Red Sox are World Series champions.

Boston closed out Game 6 in the best-of-seven series tonight with a 6-1 win over St. Louis, winning the series 4-2 over St. Louis behind four RBI from Shane Victorino and 6 2/3 strong innings from Jon Lester on the mound.

Former Minnesota Twin David Ortiz ended the series 11-of-16 from the plate, an absurd .688 batting average, and was walked four times tonight, with the Cardinals wanting nothing to do with the big bat of Ortiz. He was named World Series MVP, his first such honor in the three championship years.

Boston also won the championship in 2004, their first since 1918, and 2007. The Red Sox finished off the series at home tonight, something that hadn't happened at Fenway Park since the championship 95 years ago.

The performance of Ortiz this series, combined with the fact that he now has three World Series rings to put on his resume, will spark the debate further of if he is a Hall of Famer.

This year certainly won't hurt.

Next Up

Anthony Edwards

Ant's rally not enough to save Timberwolves

Edwards' third-quarter explosion came too late in a loss to the Pelicans.

Rent, mortgage, house, key, door

Victims of property manager's sexual harassment to get $736,000

It's part of a consent decree announced by the Department of Justice Monday.

The Liffey Pub Facebook

St. Paul's Irish pub The Liffey reveals it won't reopen

The beloved pub has been closed since the start of the pandemic.

Proctor football

Proctor football investigation: Case goes to county attorney

The office will review the evidence and consider possible criminal charges.

kirsten mitchell screegrab

'I’m heading home!': CA reporter announces return to WCCO

Kirsten Mitchell interned at WCCO years ago. Now, she's coming back as a reporter.


As part of price gouging settlement, farm to donate 1M eggs to food nonprofits

The egg producer will donate more than 1 million eggs to nonprofits fighting hunger.

plane, Piper PA-32

Sheriff: Witnesses saw plane 'performing aerial maneuvers' before fatal crash

The single-engine aircraft went down in northern Wisconsin, killing a brother and sister.

Screen Shot 2021-10-25 at 8.51.02 AM

Community rallies around Minnetonka HS dancer battling brain tumor

A fundraiser raised more than $44,000 of its $60,000 goal in the first two days.

twin city gardens

In rare move, MDH takes control of Minneapolis nursing home

The temporary receivership is to ensure resident safety.

Sen Mark Koran crop

Lawmaker deletes post encouraging donations to family charged in Capitol riot

Sen. Mark Koran, in his Facebook post, described them as "a good family!"