Patrick Reusse's annual Turkey of the Year Award goes to ...


After narrowing down a long list of potential candidates for the Turkey of the Year, Star Tribune columnist Patrick Reusse revealed his pick Thursday, and it may come as a surprise.

The 2015 Turkey of the Year is: Death.

It beat out several contenders for the title this year, including Adrian Peterson, Minneapolis Mayor Betsy Hodges, Gopher's hockey coach Don Lucia, Ragnar the ex-Vikings mascot, former U of M athletics director Norwood Teague, among a slew of others.

So why did Reusse go with this not-so-obvious pick for Turkey of the Year?

"Death has given us a horrible year in sports. Death can kiss my … grits, I guess," Reusse writes.

He then listed off all the people we've lost this year, starting with Timberwolves coach Flip Saunders, who was named Turkey of the Year in 2002 "and took it in the good humor that was intended," Reusse notes.

Reusse also named Vikings linebacker Freddie McNeill, hockey great J.P. Parise, 19-year-old basketball player Lauren Hill, among several other notable sports figures who were lost this year.

Then circled back to Saunders, writing: "Flip, for goodness sakes."

The venerable columnist ended his Thanksgiving tradition with: "Take this Turkey award, and try to get lost for a while, Death."

This was the 38th year for Turkey of the Year, which started in the late 1970's with a column that roasted the late Woody Hayes. Click here for a look back at the long and ignominious parade of poultry.

Next Up


Money Gal Coaching: How jealousy stopped me from building wealth

Kelly started Money Gal Coaching after paying down more than $46,000 in debt in just 20 months.

police lights

Man arrested for kidnapping woman after standoff in Bloomington

A 42-year-old woman was being kept from her family, police said.

coast guard north station grand marais 1

US Coast Guard plans to close its Grand Marais station by next summer

The plan is to consolidate the seasonal station with the one in Duluth.

Flickr - Winston Smith memorial uptown June 4 - Chad Davis

Court documents reveal more details from Winston Smith death scene

Two weeks after his shooting, the circumstances remain murky.

police tape

'Human body parts' found in NE Minneapolis prompt homicide investigation

The body parts were discovered around 9:20 a.m. Thursday.

penumbra theatre company

3 Minnesota nonprofits get slice of $2.7B donated by Mackenzie Scott

The philanthropist has given away around $8 billion to nonprofits over the past year.

Screen Shot 2021-06-17 at 1.02.33 PM

Flights to resume between Minneapolis-St. Paul and Iceland

Icelandair is bringing back its service, which was nixed following the onset of COVID-19.

Juneteenth minneapolis

Communities across MN hosting events to mark Juneteenth

Juneteenth celebrates the freeing of enslaved African Americans after the Civil War.


Reusse's 'Grand Turkey' not who you think...

Every year Star Tribune columnist Patrick Reusse picks a "Grand Turkey" of the Minnesota sports scene. To some, it might seem obvious who the pick will be for 2011, but Reusse won't go there ... yet.

Patrick Reusse: DeVries finally gets his shot

It’s a dream come true for Cole DeVries tonight. The 27-year-old undrafted former Gopher is on the hill for the Twins in Chicago, getting his first major league start.

Reusse: Gophers, Vikes won't be competitive for years

Star Tribune columnist Patrick Reusse writes that the task of rebuilding the woeful Vikings and Gophers football squads won't happen overnight.

Patrick Reusse: 2012 Twins have bad vibe of late-90s team

Star Tribune columnist Patrick Reusse once again says what most die-hard Twins fans are thinking: Love the stadium, but the team is a buzzkill.