Raymond, Cox headline first wave of Vikings' cuts - Bring Me The News

Raymond, Cox headline first wave of Vikings' cuts


The Minnesota Vikings today announced the release of 14 players from the preseason roster. The NFL mandates all teams trim its roster to 75 players by 3 p.m. Tuesday.

Here's the list, courtesy of Vikings.com.

  • Derek Cox, cornerback
  • Mistral Raymond, safety
  • Korey Sperry, tight end
  • Brandan Bishop, safety
  • Kevin Murphy, tackle
  • Kamar Jordan, wide receiver
  • Robert Steeples, cornerback
  • Pierce Burton, tackle
  • Andy Cruse, wide receiver
  • Erik Lora, wide receiver
  • Kheeston Randall, defensive tackle
  • Tyler Scott, defensive end
  • Jake Snyder, defensive end
  • Ty Walker, wide receiver

The Vikings also activated tight end Chase Ford from the physically unable to perform list, so they still have one player to cut before the Tuesday deadline, according to the Star Tribune.

The Vikings signed Derek Cox in March. It was a move the team hoped would provide depth to a secondary that allow a league worst 37 passing touchdowns in 2013. According to ESPN, Cox began 2013 as a starting cornerback for the Chargers before being benched three times in a stretch of four weeks.

A 53-man roster needs to be established by 3 p.m. Saturday, a little less than two days after Minnesota's preseason finale against the Tennessee Titans.

We'll have more if information becomes available.

Next Up