Rosters set: Vikings players split for Sunday's Pro Bowl


For the first time this season Teddy Bridgewater will look to see who is behind him in the backfield and Adrian Peterson won't be back there.

While both Bridgewater and Peterson play for the Vikings and both are in the Pro Bowl, they will be on opposite sidelines for Sunday's Pro Bowl.

Peterson and defensive end Everson Griffen were picked by NFL Legend Captain Jerry Rice. While Bridgewater, linebacker Anthony Barr and safety Harrison Smith were chosen by NFL Legend Captain Michael Irvin.

Peterson, who won his third rushing title with 1,485 yards and tying for the league lead with 11 touchdowns, was the first running back chosen. FOX Sports North notes that Peterson was selected in the seventh round, it will be his seventh Pro Bowl.

"He's still one of the best," Rice told reporters about Peterson. "He's still hungry. He can make incredible plays and I think that is why AP is so special."

Bridgewater, who is also making his first Pro Bowl, threw for 3,231 yards and 14 touchdowns in his second season, leading the Vikings to their first NFC North title since 2009.

"No one wants to give Bridgewater the credit he deserves," said ESPN analyst and former NFL coach Jon Gruden. "You have Aaron Rodgers, you have Matthew Stafford and you have Jay Cutler ... they're all making a lot of money. And guess who wins the [NFC] North title? Teddy Bridgewater and the Minnesota Vikings."

The Pro Bowl is Sunday in Hawaii.

Next Up

Kenta Maeda

Twins pull Maeda early, White Sox pummel bullpen

Jose Abreu's two-run homer gave the White Sox a 9-3 victory.

boys volleyball

Girls wrestling sanctioned as MSHSL activity; boys volleyball 2 votes shy

There will be section and state tournaments for girls-only wrestling next school year.

P.J. Fleck

Gopher players defend PJ Fleck after WCCO-TV report

"The public has made our statement," a U of M spokesperson said.

vaccine, covid

Twin Cities police investigating COVID vaccine thefts in viral videos

Videos of both incidents were recorded and shared online.

Guthrie theater

Guthrie to reopen to the public in July, shows resume this fall

The theater has been closed to the public for more than a year.

Target - good and gather plant based

Target is launching more than 30 new plant-based grocery products

All are part of the company's hit Good & Gather brand.

Roller Garden

Roller Garden to auction off skates, signs, arcade games and more

Many items from the beloved Roller Garden will be up for auction next month.

joseph ness booking photo

Charges: Chanhassen man fired hundreds of rounds, killing his sister

Six rifles, including AR-15 and AK-47 variants, were found inside the home.

police lights

Woman robbed and assaulted at gunpoint in Waite Park, police say

The incident occurred on Sunday at around 11:30 p.m.

pixabay - marijuana cannabis

Marijuana legalization: Minnesota House to vote Thursday

The "historic" vote on the House floor is set for Thursday afternoon.