Bridgewater wins NFL Pepsi Rookie of the Year Award

Publish date:

It's official, Viking rookie quarterback Teddy Bridgewater has been named the NFL's Pepsi Rookie of the Year.

Bridgewater was the only quarterback among the five finalists nominated, for the award. The award went to the player, who received the most online votes from fans during the voting period in January.

"This award means a lot to me. I'm glad to have the fan base that I have," Bridgewater said Friday. "They're the reason I was even in consideration for this award."

According to 1500 ESPN, Bridgewater winning the award was a huge upset. Odell Beckham Jr. was the favorite to win the award, especially with the highlight reel catches he made that allowed the Giants receiver to amass seven touchdowns at least 130 yards in each of the last four games

The announcement was somewhat anti-climatic as the news had been leaked earlier in the day by

"Playing in TCF Bank [Stadium] this year hearing those fans chant my name, that was an amazing feeling," Bridgewater added. "Also being able to go out and live out my dream, be able to complete my first season in the NFL was always a childhood dream of mine, so everything paid off."

Bridgewater joins Adrian Peterson (2007) and Percy Harvin (2009) as Vikings to win the Pepsi Rookie of the Year Award, which was established in 2002.

It is separate from the Associated Press' Rookie of the Year, which is not decided on a fan vote.

Next Up