'Stephen Colboar' leads Saints into final season at Midway Stadium


The final season of St. Paul Saints baseball at Midway Stadium begins tonight when the Saints open the regular season against the Gary Southshore RailCats.

Leading the team onto the field this season is "Stephen Colboar," named after TV personality and political comic Stephen Colbert, the team announced Wednesday.

During the previous 21 seasons the Saints have had a pig mascot and each has had a unique name. Many of the names play on hot topics of the year, current events or local celebrities. In 2012 the Saints had two mascots for the first time: Kim Lardashian and Kris Hamphries. Past names have included last season’s Mackleboar, Brat Favre (2010), Slumhog Millionaire (2009), Boarack Ohama (2008), Notorious P.I.G. – Piggy Smalls (2003) and Kevin Bacon (2001).

Other names that didn't quite make the cut were Johnny Hamziel and Teddy Bridgewiener, according to Ballpark Digest.

Our other favorites from years past include Hamlet (1997), Bud Squealig (2004) and Hammy Davis Jr. (2000).

According to the Pioneer Press, the pigs are owned by local farmers who get the pigs back after the season.

Midway Stadium has been home to the Saints for 21 seasons. The Star Tribune featured the journey the stadium, which Saints owner Mike Veeck called the ugliest in the country, has taken since the Saints began playing there in 1993.

The team credits the fans for making the Saints a fun attraction. It's high-level, minor league baseball, but the wacky between-inning antics, games and promotions are huge draws for fans.

“There weren’t people banging their doors down to come out here." Saints Executive Vice President Tom Whaley said. "Now it’s sort of symbolic with fun and a good time and that’s 110 percent the fans.”

Beginning next year, Saints baseball will be played in a new, 7,000-seat, stadium just outside the Lowertown Historic District in St. Paul. Learn more about the ballpark here.

Tonight's game begins at 7:05 p.m.

Next Up

Pixabay - emergency room ambulance hospital

St. Paul man dies six days after crash on I-94

The Hennepin County Medical Examiner has identified the man as David Rodney Hardaway.

police lights squad car dark - Unsplash

Double murder in northeastern Minnesota, suspect kills himself after chase

The suspect died at the scene from a self-inflicted gunshot wound.

chaska school fight

Anti-masker involved in school board meeting fight charged with assault

It happened last month at an Eastern Carver County Schools hearing.

Marcus Foligno

Marcus Foligno throws hands, scores game-winning goal in Wild's opener

The Wild forward scored with 7.2 seconds left to beat Anaheim.

Screen Shot 2021-10-15 at 10.01.55 PM

Large police presence at Emagine Willow Creek movie theater in Plymouth

There are few details at this stage as to what has happened.

Maple Grove Police Department

Maple Grove-based businessman convicted of fatally shooting wife

Wiseman owns properties in both Minnesota, Nevada and China.

betty and earls biscuits facebook

Jason Matheson's biscuit shop to briefly close ahead of relaunch

Betty & Earl's will shut down for two weeks before reopening under a new name.

Simon Merino Go Fund Me

Worker dies in forklift accident at paper recycling business

The victim was described as a loving father of two who was devoted to his church.

rosie means - go fund me

Authorities ID woman killed by hit-and-run driver who ran red light

A fundraiser was created to support the family after the "sudden and senseless loss."

Prior Lake Football

Watch: Prior Lake stuns Rosemount with last-second hook and ladder

The Lakers dusted off an old favorite to get a victory on Thursday night.

unsplas - maple leaf frost fall lawn

MN gets its first frost advisories, freeze warnings of the season

The coldest spots could dip to below 30 degrees overnight.


Ahead of Big Ten clash, Huskers fans spend their Friday mocking PJ Fleck

Huskers fans are in a playful mood ahead of Saturday's game.