The American League batting title is now named for a Twins Hall of Famer


Major League Baseball opened the All-Star Game festivities in San Diego Tuesday evening by announcing that the batting champions in each league this season will win awards named after a couple of Hall of Famers who won 15 of those titles between them.

Whoever finishes with the highest batting average in the American League will receive the Rod Carew Award, MLB says.


Carew played for the Twins from his Rookie of the Year season in 1967 through 1978, which is when he won the last of his seven American League batting titles.

The Panama native then played several years for the California Angels before wrapping up his Hall of Fame career.



MLB then thrilled the All-Star Game crowd in San Diego by announcing that the National League batting champ will receive the Tony Gwynn Award.

Gwynn played his entire career with the San Diego Padres, winning eight batting titles.

CBS says the roar from the crowd in response to Tuesday's announcement was deafening.

Gwynn died in 2014 of oral cancer that he attributed to chewing tobacco. American League starting pitcher Chris Sale said this week it was Gwynn's death that motivated him to give up chewing tobacco.

Carew was very nearly not around to appreciate Tuesday's news either. A few days before his 70th birthday last fall, he suffered a massive heart attack.

His recovery went well, though, and he was able to rejoin the Twins for spring training as a hitting instructor. Perhaps someone he coaches will eventually win a Rod Carew Award.

Next Up

Joe Ryan

Joe Ryan continues his dominant September

The right-hander struck out 11 batters in a victory over the Cubs.

Mounds view 9 - crime scene

Man who allegedly shot at police dies after being struck by squad vehicle

The unidentified individual fired shots at police following an alleged domestic disturbance, police say.

Karl-Anthony Towns

Karl-Anthony Towns reacts to Gersson Rosas firing: 'WTF'

The Timberwolves star was just as surprised as everyone else

Mounds View shooting incident 1 - county sheriff - crop

Deputy uses squad car to ram armed assault suspect, sheriff's office says

The man had fired multiple shots at officers, striking two of their vehicles, authorities said.

Daniel Carlson

Ex-Viking Daniel Carlson has become one of the NFL's best kickers

Carlson has been automatic since joining the Raiders.

Dustin Sundin crop

'Vulnerable' adult missing after leaving with family member's dog, phone

Authorities found footprints in a creek bed, but haven't been able to locate the man.

Mounds view 7 - crime scene

Police 'use of force' incident reported in Mounds View

The Minnesota BCA is investigating, with more details expected soon.

vaccine, covid

The 8 Minnesota counties still below a 50% vaccination rate

Fewer than half of all vaccine-eligible individuals in these areas have received at least one shot.

Dave Simonett Trampled by Turtles

Trampled By Turtles singer responds to complaints about concert vax requirements

Some of TBT's recent appearances have required proof of vaccine/negative test.

BMTN - Target drive up bag booze

The 5 cent charge for carryout bags is coming back in Minneapolis

The ordinance was suspended at the start of the pandemic.