The results are in for the 10 Mr. Hockey finalists


The voting is closed and 10 finalists for the prestigious Minnesota Mr. Hockey Award were announced Thursday by the Minnesota Minute Men, via

The 10 finalists are:

  • Jack Ahcan, Defenseman, Burnsville
  • Will Borgen, Defenseman, Moorhead
  • Dixon Bowen, Forward, East Grand Forks
  • Jacob Jaremko, Forward, Elk River
  • Dylan Malmquist, Forward, Edina
  • Jack Poehling, Forward, Lakeville North
  • Nick Poehling, Forward, Lakeville North
  • Jack Sadek, Defenseman, Lakeville North
  • Peter Tufto, Forward, St. Thomas Academy
  • Christiano Versich, Forward, St. Thomas Academy

The winner will be announced on Sunday, March 8 at the Grand Ballroom at RiverCentre. The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the best senior boys' hockey player in Minnesota, and is selected by a panel of NHL scouts, junior scouts and coaches and media members covering high school hockey around the state.

According to SB Nation, nine of the 10 players have committed to play Division 1 hockey. Ahcan, Borgen and both Poehlings are headed to St. Cloud State to play for Bob Motzko's Huskies. Bowen is going to North Dakota, Jaremko to Minnesota State, Versich to Colorado College, Malmquist to Notre Dame and Sadek to the Gophers. Tufto is the only one yet to commit.

Previous Mr. Hockey winners are:

  • Avery Peterson (2014)
  • Grant Besse (2013)
  • Justin Kloos (2012)
  • Kyle Rau (2011)
  • Nick Bjugstad (2010)
  • Nick Leddy (2009)
  • Aaron Ness (2008)
  • Ryan McDonagh (2007)
  • David Fischer (2006)
  • Brian Lee (2005)
  • Tom Gorowsky (2004)
  • Nate Dey (2003)
  • Gino Guyer (2002)
  • Marty Sertich (2001)
  • Paul Martin (2000)
  • Jeff Taffe (1999)
  • John Pohl (1998)
  • Aaron Miskovich (1997)
  • Dave Spehar (1996)
  • Erik Rasmussen (1995)
  • Mike Crowley (1994)
  • Nick Checco (1993)
  • Brian Bonin (1992)
  • Darby Hendrickson (1991)
  • Joe Dziedzic (1990)
  • Trent Klatt (1989)
  • Larry Olimb (1988)
  • Kris Miller (1987)
  • George Pelawa (1986)
  • Tom Chorske (1985)

Next Up

Byron Buxton

Alex Colomé wastes Buxton's diving catch, clutch bomb

The Twins' bullpen woes continued in a loss to the A's.

Northern Metals

Firefighters battling large blaze at Northern Metal site in Minneapolis

The fire sent a plume of thick smoke into the skyline.

Screen Shot 2021-04-21 at 12.10.00 PM

Charges: St. Cloud woman maced, fatally stabbed man in alley

A 36-year-old man was pronounced dead at St. Cloud Hospital 32 minutes after the 911 call was made.


Gasthof's building in Northeast Minneapolis is for sale

The restaurant opened in 1992 and has been closed amid the COVID-19 pandemic.


1 dead in single-vehicle crash in Kandiyohi County

Deaths on Minnesota roads are up approximately 20% from the same point last year.

Irwin Jacobs home

Neighbor sues to block estate from dividing billionaire's Lake Minnetonka property

The estate of Irwin Jacobs wants to build six new homes on the late businessman's property.


In the better burger battle, does Culver's trump In-N-Out?

A website says Culver's is far superior to In-N-Out.

George Floyd mural

Darnella Frazier, who filmed the video of Floyd's arrest, reacts to guilty verdict

Frazier's video challenged the initial narrative of Floyd's arrest presented by the Minneapolis Police Department.

Burnsville police shooting

Man fatally shot by police near I-35W in Burnsville is identified

The suspect killed in the incident is from western Wisconsin.


state hockey tournament, mshsl

10 Mr. Hockey finalists announced; 3 headed to UMD

All 10 are committed to play Division I hockey.

state hockey tournament, mshsl

Here are the 10 finalists for Minnesota's Mr. Hockey Award

Eight players from the metro, two from greater Minnesota.

10 finalists for Mr. Hockey Award announced

Having already been picked in the NHL Draft, Sammy Walker is favored to win.