Time Capsule: Jan. 28, 1960 -- Minnesota awarded NFL franchise


On Jan. 28, 1960 -- 53 years ago today -- Purple Nation was born.

Max Winter, E. William Boyer, H.P. Skoglund, Ole Haugsrud and Bernard H. Ridder, Jr. would form the first ownership group for the NFL-expansion Minnesota Vikings, who would be ready to play in 1961.

The NFL also awarded a franchise to Dallas on this day. The franchise fee way back then? According to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, just a cool million dollars. These days, buying into the league costs hundreds of millions more.

Here's the headline from the Minneapolis Morning Tribune:

Next Up