Twins announce Diamond Awards winners; Hughes MVP


Phil Hughes is the big winner of the Minnesota Twins 10th annual Diamond Awards.

The Twins announced Thursday that Hughes, who in his first season with Minnesota was a bright spot for a team that lost 90-plus games for a fourth consecutive year, was voted the team's Most Valuable Player and the Twins Pitcher of the Year.

Hughes set an all-time Major League Baseball record with an 11.63 strikeout-to-walk ratio. He walked only 16 batters all season while finishing with 186 strikeouts. Hughes led all Twins starting pitchers with a 3.52 earned-run average.

The Diamond Awards banquet will be held Jan. 22, 2015 at Target Field. Awards are voted on by the Baseball Writers Association of America local chapter, according to the Star Tribune.

Infielder/outfielder Danny Santana was voted Most Outstanding Rookie. The Twins note that Santana led all rookies in the following post-All-Star break stats: runs (51), hits (85) and doubles (17). He finished the season with a .319 batting average.

Former Twins submarining reliever Pat Neshek, who now pitches for the St. Louis Cardinals, won the Dick Siebert Award, which goes to the best MLB player from the upper-midwest. Neshek is a native Minnesota and graduated from Park Central High School.

Most Improved Player: Eduardo Escobar

Defensive Player of the Year: Brian Dozier

Bob Allison Award: Kurt Suzuki (given to the player who exemplifies hustle and determination on and off the field)

Carl R. Pohlad Community Service Award: Brian Duensing

Media Good Guy Award: Ron Gardenhire

Gardenhire was fired after the season, his 13th as Twins manager. During his exit press conference he said he wanted to continue managing. Twins Daily's Nick Nelson, however, tweets that it doesn't look like Gardenhire will get a job for next year.

Gardenhire said he was looking forward to meeting his grandson when his daughter gives birth later this year.

Joe Mauer did not win any awards. He was the team's Most Valuable Player in 2013.

Next Up

Mitch Garver

Garver homers, Twins bats remain cold

The Twins couldn't get going in a 3-1 loss to the Rangers.

Kirill Kaprizov

Golden Knights strike back, overcome Kaprizov heroics

Kaprizov scored twice in the third period but the Wild lost 3-2.

Marcus Foligno

Hockey fight: Foligno steps in after Knights' hit on Kaprizov

All hell broke loose after Nicolas Hague's hit on Kirill Kaprizov.

Governor Tim Walz

Walz will announce timeline 'to end all COVID-19 restrictions'

The details will be revealed in the governor's planned Thursday address.

Associate wearing PPE 2

Amazon to open new facility in St. Cloud this year, creating 'hundreds' of jobs

St. Cloud Mayor Dave Kleis shared the news in his State of the City address this week.

State Patrol

State Patrol: Semi driver kills self after being stopped by troopers

The incident happened Wednesday morning in the Miracle Mile shopping center parking lot in Rochester.

state fair beer

Money Gal: Don't forget the most important items in your budget

Kelly started Money Gal Coaching after paying down more than $46,000 in debt in just 20 months.


Crash kills motorcyclist near Treasure Island casino

The crash took place just before midnight.

The Lunds & Byerlys on Cedar Avenue in Minneapolis, three weeks prior to opening.

New Lunds & Byerlys opens in Minneapolis this month

It's been built in the spot formerly occupied by Bergan's SuperValu.

valleyfair food workers 1

Valleyfair food workers getting a pay raise for 2021 season

The starting wage will increase from $11.25 an hour to $15 an hour.

Screen Shot 2021-05-05 at 11.10.59 AM

Peloton recalls treadmills after child's death, dozens of other injuries

Officials say owners should stop using them immediately.

Screen Shot 2020-05-29 at 6.42.54 AM

St. Paul man gets prison, ordered to pay $12M for burning of 3rd Police Precinct

He was among four Minnesota men charged in connection to the fires at the Third Precinct following George Floyd's murder.