Watch: Referee's mistake may have cost Nashville the Stanley Cup - Bring Me The News

Watch: Referee's mistake may have cost Nashville the Stanley Cup

Pittsburgh scored the winning goal with 95 seconds left in regulation.
Author:
Updated:
Original:

The Pittsburgh Penguins their second straight Stanley Cup Final with a 2-0 win in Game 6 Sunday night.

Patric Hornqvist scored the game-winning goal with 1:35 remaining in the third period. It was a goal that arguably should've tied the game considering the first goal, scored by Nashville, was waived off by officials.

The controversial play happened less than 70 seconds into the second period when a referee blew the play dead after losing sight of the puck. Little did the ref know that the puck was about to squirt free into the crease, where Nashville's Colton Sissons scored with ease. The goal, however, did not stand, nor did it make its way to video review.

According to The Tennessean, the NHL rulebook states that the play should have gone to video review. The rule says:

"This would also include situations whereby the Referee stops play or is in the process of stopping the play because he has lost sight of the puck and it is subsequently determined by video review that the puck crosses (or has crossed) the goal line and enters the net as the culmination of a continuous play where the result was unaffected by the whistle (i.e., the timing of the whistle was irrelevant to the puck entering the net at the end of a continuous play)."

"It’s tough, but that’s sports," Predators captain Mike Fisher said. "There’s human error in every sport. That’s the way it goes sometimes, and we can’t control that unfortunately. I know that that happens, and I’m sure the ref feels bad about it, but what do you do?"

Next Up

Related