WCHA Awards: SCSU's LeBlanc named Player of the Year


The Western Collegiate Hockey Association released its regular season awards on Thursday. St. Cloud State's Drew LeBlanc was named the Player of the Year and Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year.

St. Cloud State had two players on the All-WCHA first team -- LeBlanc and defenseman Nick Jensen. They didn't have any players on the second or third teams.

Four Gophers were named to All-WCHA teams. Defenseman Nate Schmidt was selected to the first team, forward Erik Haula to the second team and forward Nick Bjugstad and goalie Adam Wilcox to the third team.

Minnesota State forwards Matt Leitner and Eriah Hayes were named the third team, while freshman goalie Stephon Williams was selected to the first team, and named WCHA Rookie of the Year.

Next Up