Vikings: Page, Peterson, Carter, Tarkenton on 'Mt. Rushmore'


Fran Tarkenton, Alan Page, Cris Carter and Adrian Peterson were voted Mike Florio of Pro Football Talk's "Mt. Rushmore" of Vikings.

The popular football website is in the midst a “Faces of the Franchise; Who’s on Your Team’s Mount Rushmore?” series.

The goal is to determine the four most influential people in the history of each NFL team.

As Florio puts it: "For many teams, cutting the field to four will be nearly impossible. But we’ll do it, and plenty of fans will call us idiots.”

The fans voted in Tarkenton, Carter, Peterson and former head coach Bud Grant.

"If Bud Grant is not on the front, a mistake has been made," Vikings play-by-play guy Paul Allen told Florio Monday morning on KFAN-FM 100.3.

Grant finished with a career record of 158-96-5 in 18 seasons with the Vikings. He led Minnesota four Super Bowl appearances.

The 12 finalists were:

Cris Carter
Chris Doleman
Carl Eller
Bud Grant
Paul Krause
Jim Marshall
Randy Moss
Alan Page
Adrian Peterson
John Randle
Fran Tarkenton
Ron Yary

Comment below and let us know which four would have made it on your Mt. Rushmore.

Next Up