Wisconsin wins first Big Ten hockey tournament


The Wisconsin Badgers defeated Ohio State 5-4 in overtime Saturday night in the first Big Ten Men’s Hockey Tournament Championship. Senior Mark Zengerle scored the game winner in overtime for the victory.

Tyler Barnes, Jefferson Dahl, Morgan Zulinick and Jake McCabe all had goals for Wisconsin, while junior goalie Joel Rumpel added 28 saves in the victory.

Ryan Dzingel, Nick Oddo, Clark Cristofoli and Tanner Fritz scored for the Buckeyes, who reached the championship game by upsetting the Minnesota Gophers 3-1 in the semifinals Friday night.

Wisconsin won the final WCHA tournament championship last year as well.

Both the Badgers and the Gophers will be in the NCAA national tournament, which begins next weekend. The No. 1-ranked Gophers will host the West Regional of the tournament next weekend.

The Gopher women's hockey team plays for its third straight national championship against Clarkson Sunday afternoon in Hamden, Conn.

Next Up